Author Topic: compile version 16.01 from sources  (Read 5468 times)

Offline alexo

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 21
compile version 16.01 from sources
« on: January 31, 2016, 05:16:14 pm »
Hello,
I'm eager to try the new version of C::B on Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa.
I've downloaded the sources files and run ./configure
all went well and the message says I can run make to build the IDE.

This is the output of the command on my machine:

Code: [Select]
[email protected] ~/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release $ make
 cd . && /bin/bash /home/alessandro/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release/missing automake-1.13 --foreign
/home/alessandro/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release/missing: riga 81: automake-1.13: comando non trovato
WARNING: 'automake-1.13' is missing on your system.
         You should only need it if you modified 'Makefile.am' or
         'configure.ac' or m4 files included by 'configure.ac'.
         The 'automake' program is part of the GNU Automake package:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/automake>
         It also requires GNU Autoconf, GNU m4 and Perl in order to run:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/autoconf>
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/m4/>
         <http://www.perl.org/>
make: *** [Makefile.in] Errore 1


automake is installed and
Code: [Select]
aclocal --version gives:

Code: [Select]
aclocal (GNU automake) 1.14.1
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <[email protected]>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <[email protected]>.

I got the same error message trying to compile C::B 16.01 on Tiny core Linux 6.4.1
Any help?

Many thanks

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
    • Travis build status
Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2016, 06:26:50 pm »
Do you have any automake installed?
Have you considered making packages?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6676
    • My Best Post
Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2016, 07:30:40 pm »
What version of automake is installed?

Edit: I have both automake1.11 and automake version 1.14.1 installed on my system; something in the past needed version 1.11 no idea what it was.

Tim S.

Code: [Select]
automake --version
Gives below on Debian Jessie.
Code: [Select]
automake (GNU automake) 1.14.1
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <[email protected]>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <[email protected]>.

Edit2
Code: [Select]
automake-1.11 --version
Gives
Code: [Select]
automake (GNU automake) 1.11.6
Copyright (C) 2011 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <[email protected]>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <[email protected]>.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2016, 07:37:14 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline alexo

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2016, 07:47:20 pm »
I tried to install from packages but there were a dependency problem both with debian and ubuntu packages.
So I decided a neat install from sources. But I never tried before.

My output of

Code: [Select]
automake --version

automake (GNU automake) 1.14.1
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <[email protected]>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <[email protected]>.

when i try to auto-complete the 'auto' string in the shell i get this output:

Code: [Select]
auto
autoconf       autom4te       automake-1.14  autoreconf     autoupdate
autoheader     automake       autopoint      autoscan

is it normal to have both automake and automake-1-14 installed?
« Last Edit: January 31, 2016, 07:51:37 pm by alexo »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
    • Travis build status
Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2016, 07:56:53 pm »
I proposed building the packages yourself.
On most systems this process is well automated and handles installing dependencies or at least errors earlier when something is missing.
If we ship the boostrap script you might have some luck running it before running configure.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline alexo

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2016, 08:38:29 pm »
If you tell me the step by step procedure I can try it.
I don't know anything about package creation. Sorry.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12125
    • Travis build status
Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2016, 08:55:36 pm »
Neither do I know how to make them for mint. But a few days ago with little searching I've learnt how to make ubuntu packages (I'm not an ubuntu/debian user). So it should not be that hard.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6676
    • My Best Post
Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2016, 09:25:51 pm »
Neither do I know how to make them for mint. But a few days ago with little searching I've learnt how to make ubuntu packages (I'm not an ubuntu/debian user). So it should not be that hard.

From http://www.pcworld.com/article/3013058/linux/linux-mint-173-rosa-offers-linux-mints-most-polished-desktop-experience-yet.html
Quote
Linux Mint 17.3 “Rosa” continues a series of stable releases built on the Ubuntu 14.04 LTS code.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6676
    • My Best Post
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2016, 09:33:20 pm »
Just my two cents:
As i understand automake is present on the system but nit detected correctly?
Code: [Select]
[email protected] ~/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release $ make
 cd . && /bin/bash /home/alessandro/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release/missing automake-1.13 --foreign
/home/alessandro/Scaricati/codeblocks-16.01.release/missing: riga 81: automake-1.13: comando non trovato
WARNING: 'automake-1.13' is missing on your system.
         You should only need it if you modified 'Makefile.am' or
         'configure.ac' or m4 files included by 'configure.ac'.
         The 'automake' program is part of the GNU Automake package:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/automake>
         It also requires GNU Autoconf, GNU m4 and Perl in order to run:
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/autoconf>
         <http://www.gnu.org/software/m4/>
         <http://www.perl.org/>
make: *** [Makefile.in] Errore 1
automake is installed and
Code: [Select]
aclocal --version gives:
Code: [Select]
aclocal (GNU automake) 1.14.1
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv2+: GNU GPL version 2 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl-2.0.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by Tom Tromey <[email protected]>
       and Alexandre Duret-Lutz <[email protected]>.


So this might help:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/21716385/glib2-build-cant-find-automake-1-13-when-automake-1-14-is-installed

i am no linux build system pro, but you could also try on a fresh source download
Code: [Select]
./bootstrap
./configure
make

greetings

Offline alexo

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: compile version 16.01 from sources
« Reply #10 on: February 01, 2016, 07:46:54 pm »
Thanks to you all I solved the problem giving the following commands

Code: [Select]
automake-1.14.1
./bootstrap
./configure
make
sudo make install

but I had to add the line
/usr/local/lib
to /etc/ld.so.conf file
and then running

Code: [Select]
sudo ldconfig