Author Topic: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived  (Read 54720 times)

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10117
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #30 on: December 17, 2015, 09:15:12 pm »
If you're getting asserts please report them, I'm trying to fix as many as I can.
Also if you get crashes it would be good if they are reported, so we can try to do something about them.
I'm running a wx3.0 build of C::B at home in order to test it more, but I don't have much time to code at home at the moment so I'm not testing it much:(
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline CuteAlien

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #31 on: December 18, 2015, 12:12:52 am »
Assert (without crash) after doing very long nothing with c::b, followed by Find in files over workspace files and then double-clicking one of the results):

ASSERT INFO:
../include/wx/dynarray.h(838): assert "uiIndex < m_nCount" failed in Item().

BACKTRACE:
[1] wxGenericTreeCtrl::CalculateLevel(wxGenericTreeItem*, wxDC&, int, int&)
[2] wxGenericTreeCtrl::CalculatePositions()
[3] wxGenericTreeCtrl::DoDirtyProcessing()
[4] wxGenericTreeCtrl::OnInternalIdle()
[5] wxWindowBase::SendIdleEvents(wxIdleEvent&)
[6] wxWindowBase::SendIdleEvents(wxIdleEvent&)
[7] wxWindowBase::SendIdleEvents(wxIdleEvent&)
[8] wxWindowBase::SendIdleEvents(wxIdleEvent&)
[9] wxWindowBase::SendIdleEvents(wxIdleEvent&)
[10] wxWindowBase::SendIdleEvents(wxIdleEvent&)
[11] wxFrame::SendIdleEvents(wxIdleEvent&)
[12] wxAppBase::ProcessIdle()
[13] wxApp::DoIdle()
[14] g_main_context_dispatch
[15] g_main_loop_run
[16] gtk_main
[17] wxGUIEventLoop::DoRun()
[18] wxEventLoopBase::Run()
[19] wxAppConsoleBase::MainLoop()
[20] CodeBlocksApp::OnRun() /tmp/buildd/codeblocks-13.12svn10621/src/src/app.cpp:852
[21] wxEntry(int&, wchar_t**)
[22] main /tmp/buildd/codeblocks-13.12svn10621/src/src/app.cpp:322
[23] __libc_start_main

Build: Dec 10 2015, 22:09:58 - wx3.0.2 (Linux, unicode) - 64 bit
On Debian stable.

edit: Got the same assert with same callstack later on when switching betwen files by clicking a tab. So it's maybe related to bringing some file to the front in the editor. Also not just getting it once but maybe 5 times in a row.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2015, 01:24:24 am by CuteAlien »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10117
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #32 on: December 18, 2015, 08:26:26 am »
Do you have the option to sync the editor and the project tree enabled?

Also can you share your project or checkout the codeblocks' source code and try to reproduce it with some of the projects or workspaces in it?

edit: Also have you added or removed some files to the workspace projects between the find in files and double clicking results?
« Last Edit: December 18, 2015, 08:30:05 am by oBFusCATed »
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ssawgift

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 67
    • My personal website
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #33 on: December 18, 2015, 12:54:24 pm »
I use CB inside a Windows XP virtual machine. I see that it does not have XP styles (specifically the buttons don't have visual effects).

Offline CuteAlien

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #34 on: December 18, 2015, 07:58:47 pm »
Do you have the option to sync the editor and the project tree enabled?
Hm, help me - I'm not finding that option so far.

Also can you share your project or checkout the codeblocks' source code and try to reproduce it with some of the projects or workspaces in it?
The project I've been working on is this one: https://bitbucket.org/mzeilfelder/trunk_hc1
But I fear it's not that easy to set-up, I don't really expect you to do that :-)
I had also the Irrlicht engine project open the same time (the one in libs/irrlicht/source/Irrlicht in the h-craft project).
If I can figure out any way to reproduce this in a less random way I'll inform you. But so far the only common factor I found is that it's happening when a new file should be displayed in the editor (not even sure yet if it's also happening when the file was already open in the background).

edit: Also have you added or removed some files to the workspace projects between the find in files and double clicking results?
No, I didn't do that. 

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 10117
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #35 on: December 18, 2015, 08:08:00 pm »
Hm, help me - I'm not finding that option so far.
You'll know if you have this option enabled if when you switch between file the same file gets selected in the project tree.
The option is in Settings -> Editor -> General -> Other editor settings -> Synchronise editor with Project manager.
<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline CuteAlien

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #36 on: December 18, 2015, 08:33:12 pm »
Nice option. Didn't have it enabled, but definitely will enable it in future :-)
But I did have the "open file list" from the open files list plugin open. And that did synchronize already.

Offline ssawgift

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 67
    • My personal website
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #37 on: December 19, 2015, 07:36:54 am »
I'm on the opposite.

Code completion works for me in your case. However, if do 'using namespace std' and 'vector<int> v', I won't get autocompletion.

BTW, I use CB RC1 on Windows XP.

Hello.

I have problem with code completion with this release.

When I type this code:
Code: [Select]
#include <iostream>
#include <vector>

int main()
{
    std::vector<int> v;
   
    v.
   
    return 0;
}

and after v. I should get code completion.
BUT when I type using namespace std;
and just vector<int> v; then when I type v. everything works good.

Ctrl + Space doesn't work, reparsing project also doesn't work.

Why?
« Last Edit: December 19, 2015, 08:02:03 am by ssawgift »

Offline CuteAlien

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #38 on: December 19, 2015, 09:51:57 am »
Don't know if it's related to my asserts. But when I start codeblocks from console I get the following message right on start (before opening any projects):
(codeblocks:2292): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_tree_model_iter_nth_child: assertion 'n >= 0' failed

edit: I could reproduce the assert now once the same way as before. I opened codeblocks with 2 project and a few open files in the editor and the Open files list visible. Then worked for a few hours on other stuff just keeping it in background. Switched back to c::b did a global search for something - and got the assert again. The synchronize settings was again disabled.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2015, 01:05:28 pm by CuteAlien »

Offline CuteAlien

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #39 on: December 19, 2015, 01:22:16 pm »
OK, it's not about time spend in background. It happens when the "Search results" box contains a result which needs no scrollbars. And then I make a new search which needs scrollbars - but just barely (like the result has 1-2 line more than what would fit in the window without scrollbars).  Doing that I could reproduce the assert now a few times. Searching again when the scrollbars are already there with same search won't give the assert again even when I try different sizes for the "Search results" window. Only when I clear it in between (using a new search which is found less often).

edit: Thinking about it some more - it could also have been affected by the file-order opened on clicking search-results. So the other part would just have been random. Because when I tested resizing the "Search results" dialog I also resized the editor window which was above.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2015, 01:31:55 am by CuteAlien »

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4917
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #40 on: December 19, 2015, 02:41:41 pm »
I'm on the opposite.

Code completion works for me in your case. However, if do 'using namespace std' and 'vector<int> v', I won't get autocompletion.

BTW, I use CB RC1 on Windows XP.

Hello.

I have problem with code completion with this release.

When I type this code:
Code: [Select]
#include <iostream>
#include <vector>

int main()
{
    std::vector<int> v;
   
    v.
   
    return 0;
}

and after v. I should get code completion.
BUT when I type using namespace std;
and just vector<int> v; then when I type v. everything works good.

Ctrl + Space doesn't work, reparsing project also doesn't work.

Why?
@ssawgift, both the two cases works fine here for the latest svn10625. Which compiler do you use?
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline CuteAlien

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #41 on: December 20, 2015, 01:33:56 am »
Another crash, unfortunately no crash-dialog this time. It happened when I started the debugger (gdb 7.7.1).
On console the last messages had been:

Switching layout to "GDB/CDB debugger:Default"
../src/gtk/colour.cpp(241): assert "IsOk()" failed in GetColor(): invalid colour
Trace/breakpoint trap

Also another problem twice today where the debugger froze - and caused C::B to freeze as well (no more screen updates). When killed the debugger manually (with killall gdb) then C::B continued to work again.

edit: Got another crash when starting the debugger. This time last messages had been:
Switching layout to "GDB/CDB debugger:Default"
../src/common/object.cpp(352): assert "m_count > 0" failed in DecRef(): invalid ref data count
*** Error in `codeblocks': malloc(): smallbin double linked list corrupted: 0x00000000023bbaf0 ***
Aborted
« Last Edit: December 20, 2015, 02:06:28 am by CuteAlien »

Offline ssawgift

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 67
    • My personal website
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #42 on: December 20, 2015, 07:52:59 am »
I'm on the opposite.

Code completion works for me in your case. However, if do 'using namespace std' and 'vector<int> v', I won't get autocompletion.

BTW, I use CB RC1 on Windows XP.

Hello.

I have problem with code completion with this release.

When I type this code:
Code: [Select]
#include <iostream>
#include <vector>

int main()
{
    std::vector<int> v;
   
    v.
   
    return 0;
}

and after v. I should get code completion.
BUT when I type using namespace std;
and just vector<int> v; then when I type v. everything works good.

Ctrl + Space doesn't work, reparsing project also doesn't work.

Why?
@ssawgift, both the two cases works fine here for the latest svn10625. Which compiler do you use?

I use gcc 4.9.3 built by MinGW-W64 project.

gcc -v
Using built-in specs.
COLLECT_GCC=gcc
COLLECT_LTO_WRAPPER=c:/mingw32/bin/../libexec/gcc/i686-w64-mingw32/4.9.3/lto-wrapper.exe
Target: i686-w64-mingw32
Configured with: ../../../src/gcc-4.9.3/configure --host=i686-w64-mingw32 --build=i686-w64-mingw32 --target=i686-w64-min
gw32 --prefix=/mingw32 --with-sysroot=/c/mingw493/i686-493-win32-dwarf-rt_v4-rev1/mingw32 --with-gxx-include-dir=/mingw3
2/i686-w64-mingw32/include/c++ --enable-shared --enable-static --disable-multilib --enable-languages=c,c++,fortran,objc,
obj-c++,lto --enable-libstdcxx-time=yes --enable-threads=win32 --enable-libgomp --enable-libatomic --enable-lto --enable
-graphite --enable-checking=release --enable-fully-dynamic-string --enable-version-specific-runtime-libs --disable-sjlj-
exceptions --with-dwarf2 --disable-isl-version-check --disable-cloog-version-check --disable-libstdcxx-pch --disable-lib
stdcxx-debug --enable-bootstrap --disable-rpath --disable-win32-registry --disable-nls --disable-werror --disable-symver
s --with-gnu-as --with-gnu-ld --with-arch=i686 --with-tune=generic --with-libiconv --with-system-zlib --with-gmp=/c/ming
w493/prerequisites/i686-w64-mingw32-static --with-mpfr=/c/mingw493/prerequisites/i686-w64-mingw32-static --with-mpc=/c/m
ingw493/prerequisites/i686-w64-mingw32-static --with-isl=/c/mingw493/prerequisites/i686-w64-mingw32-static --with-cloog=
/c/mingw493/prerequisites/i686-w64-mingw32-static --enable-cloog-backend=isl --with-pkgversion='i686-win32-dwarf-rev1, B
uilt by MinGW-W64 project' --with-bugurl=http://sourceforge.net/projects/mingw-w64 CFLAGS='-O2 -pipe -I/c/mingw493/i686-
493-win32-dwarf-rt_v4-rev1/mingw32/opt/include -I/c/mingw493/prerequisites/i686-zlib-static/include -I/c/mingw493/prereq
uisites/i686-w64-mingw32-static/include' CXXFLAGS='-O2 -pipe -I/c/mingw493/i686-493-win32-dwarf-rt_v4-rev1/mingw32/opt/i
nclude -I/c/mingw493/prerequisites/i686-zlib-static/include -I/c/mingw493/prerequisites/i686-w64-mingw32-static/include'
 CPPFLAGS= LDFLAGS='-pipe -L/c/mingw493/i686-493-win32-dwarf-rt_v4-rev1/mingw32/opt/lib -L/c/mingw493/prerequisites/i686
-zlib-static/lib -L/c/mingw493/prerequisites/i686-w64-mingw32-static/lib -Wl,--large-address-aware'
Thread model: win32
gcc version 4.9.3 (i686-win32-dwarf-rev1, Built by MinGW-W64 project)


I want to add that I tried code completion using one of my test project which is a bit more complex than the test code in the post I replied to.

However, I do not have problems with typedefs:

typedef vector<int> vi;

« Last Edit: December 20, 2015, 12:12:53 pm by ssawgift »

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4917
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #43 on: December 20, 2015, 09:48:02 am »
@ssawgift, both the two cases works fine here for the latest svn10625. Which compiler do you use?
I use gcc 4.9.3 built by MinGW-W64 project.
...
I just tested this compiler, and it works fine here on my system with the latest svn rev10626.
EDIT: I'm on my local c::b build against wx3.0.2
« Last Edit: December 20, 2015, 09:51:30 am by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline CuteAlien

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 57
Re: Release 15.12, RC1 has arrived
« Reply #44 on: December 20, 2015, 03:50:56 pm »
Next crash - I had just started C::B a few seconds before and was modifying a comment in a header. No crash-dialog, just those messages on the console where I started codeblocks:

ClassBrowser::OnThreadEvent(): Updating class browser...
codeblocks: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X server :0.
../src/common/debugrpt.cpp(453): assert "IsOk()" failed in AddContext(): use IsOk() first