Author Topic: The compiler's setup is invalid (newbie).  (Read 7805 times)

Offline miauniverse

• Single posting newcomer
The compiler's setup is invalid (newbie).
« on: October 11, 2015, 11:57:16 pm »
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I'm a complete newbie and I really appreciate any help/knowledge you can give me. I've been working on issues with Codeblocks for the past two days, and I am desperate for it to work. I am currently having a problem where Codeblocks cannot find my GNU GCC compiler.

I am using:
- Mac OS X El Capitan 10.11
- CodeBlocks for Mac 13.2
- GNU GCC compiler for Mac 5.2.0 and command line tools from Xcode

My build log says this when I try to execute the default "Hello World" program:
"pleasework - Debug": The compiler's setup (GNU GCC Compiler) is invalid, so Code::Blocks cannot find/run the compiler.
Probably the toolchain path within the compiler options is not setup correctly?! (Do you have a compiler installed?)
Goto "Settings->Compiler...->Global compiler settings->GNU GCC Compiler->Toolchain executables" and fix the compiler's setup.
Skipping...
Nothing to be done (all items are up-to-date).

When I exit Settings, I always get this error message (even though "compiler" is ticked in the Batch Builds setting):
"The compiler plugin must always be loaded for batch builds! Automatically re-enabled."

After searching forums, I tried these things:
- I went to Settings -> Compiler -> Global Compiler Settings and selected GNU GCC Compiler. I set it to default and I reset the defaults.
- I went to Settings -> Compiler-> Global Compiler->Toolchain Executables and hit auto-detect. It says the path is "/usr".
- I uninstalled and then reinstalled Codeblocks, the compiler and the command line tools.

Thank you for your time!
« Last Edit: October 12, 2015, 12:07:36 am by miauniverse »

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: The compiler's setup is invalid (newbie).