Author Topic: How to debug in code blocks?  (Read 3716 times)

Offline richardm55

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
How to debug in code blocks?
« on: August 09, 2015, 04:45:54 pm »
Do you know any good tutorial or guide how to use debug function in code blocks?
When I tried to do that I faced some problems. When I got to the point to take variables from cin nothing happened in console and it has not taken anything.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7591
    • My Best Post
Re: How to debug in code blocks?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2015, 05:04:32 pm »
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Debugging_with_Code::Blocks

No idea if the directions are good; I do NOT use the debugger very much.

Tim S.
 
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
Re: How to debug in code blocks?
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2015, 05:05:17 pm »
you can search on youtube for easy debug videos.
When I tried to do that I faced some problems.
what problems?

Offline richardm55

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to debug in code blocks?
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2015, 06:09:22 pm »
Youtube tutorials are too simple and don't cover all issues. I have problem with reading the values in cin in debugging.

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3353
Re: How to debug in code blocks?
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2015, 06:31:40 pm »
What are your problems.... Without code or an example we can't help... This youtube videos cover all needed stuff...

Offline richardm55

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to debug in code blocks?
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2015, 06:36:18 pm »
I still repeat what my problem is. While I debug and press F7 for next line and when I get line with cin for reading some variables the console can not accept and take those variables.

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: How to debug in code blocks?
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2015, 07:28:16 pm »
You have to go past 'cin' line for the console to accept input if that's your problem. The logic is the line shown with the debug pointer hasn't executed yet. If that isn't your problem please post the steps to produce.

Offline richardm55

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How to debug in code blocks?
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2015, 07:39:26 pm »
OK I will do that. I will save some screens of those steps and I will  post them here.