Author Topic: My first C::B build  (Read 5115 times)

Offline Michaela Joy

• Multiple posting newcomer
My first C::B build
« on: May 19, 2015, 05:31:41 pm »
Hi All,
So I've been working with Code::Blocks for about 3 months now (Writing / re-learning C++). It's totally awesome. Of course, there are things that I don't (didn't) like. One of which is that "annoying" popup dialog box that comes up when I press <Ctrl><Tab>. Yesterday, I decided to do something about it. :)

The first thing I did was download wxWidgets (The version from the Code::Blocks repository) and build it. After some searching, I found the info around here about "-fpermissive". :)
Then, I grabbed the latest "HEAD" from the svn repository. Then, I read the "BUILD" file. :)

The result: Everything built flawlessly. :) (Well...almost flawlessly) On the "about" dialog, the SVN version is 0.

After some reading inside main.cpp, I found this function at line 4460

void MainFrame::OnSwitchTabs(cb_unused wxCommandEvent& event)

This is the function that displays the switcher dialog. So, I decided to replace that code. My thinking is to add a checkbox in the settings dialog somewhere (Not sure where; I'm open to suggestions) which will allow me to optionally disable the switcher dialog.

For now, I replaced the original code with this.

Code
cbAuiNotebook* nb = Manager::Get()->GetEditorManager()->GetNotebook();
if (!nb)
    return;
if (nb->GetPageCount() <= 1)
    return;
int currentSelection = nb->GetSelection();
wxWindow* page = nullptr;
size_t maxPages = nb->GetPageCount();
currentSelection++;
if (currentSelection < 0)
    currentSelection = maxPages - 1;
else if (currentSelection >= maxPages)
    currentSelection = 0;
nb->SetSelection(currentSelection);

I've been putting C::B through its' paces, and so far, all seems to work well. If any C::B developer sees a potential problem with this code, please let Me know.