Author Topic: Scope of tags and defines  (Read 2556 times)

Offline MarkVonShief

• Single posting newcomer
Scope of tags and defines
« on: April 14, 2015, 05:50:11 pm »
I have been using C::B for a couple years or more and have one peeve that keeps me thinking that I need to go back to SlickEdit

My code (C) consists of a few hundred source and header files, and some pieces of source code are either included or not with compile-time defines.  These defines are sometimes in quite a different part of the tree than where they are used, but all the files are in the project and I can see the defines set in the symbol table and the project compiles and links.  The source code in the editor doesn't seem to be able to see them, however, and a simple search for symbol declaration comes up empty unless I load the file with the declaration into the editor.  The editor also colors these sections as if the declaration is never made, and that's whether it has opened the file with the declaration or not.

for instance, one of the first lines of sourcecode would contain:

#if FEATURE__THISISAFEATURE

and the Preprocessor symbols tab shows:

# FEATURE__THISISAFEATURE:1

and the sourcecode following the #if will still be gray'ed out, as if the symbol was never defined.

I haven't been able to find any setting to get the correct scope and I'm really surprised that I haven't been able to find a solution to this searching the forum and elsewhere online because my project is really not all that complex that other folks wouldn't have run into this.

again - this is just an aggravation

Thanks for any thoughts - MvS

Offline BlueHazzard

• Developer
  • Lives here!
Re: Scope of tags and defines
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2015, 07:19:02 pm »