Author Topic: Debugging into a struct containing pointers  (Read 1667 times)

Offline xisso

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Debugging into a struct containing pointers
« on: March 06, 2015, 02:41:13 am »
Hi.

I recently started to use codeblocks and while debugging i'm not really sure how to display what is on the adress when into a struct containing a  pointer.

Here is my watch and struct - http://postimg.org/image/62ii13ixr/

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11715
    • Travis build status
Re: Debugging into a struct containing pointers
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2015, 03:59:02 am »
Dereferencing pointers in structs is not supported.
You'll have to dereference them yourself.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline xisso

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Debugging into a struct containing pointers
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2015, 06:54:34 am »
Thanks for the quick answer. Is it a feature ur thining of implementing?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11715
    • Travis build status
Re: Debugging into a struct containing pointers
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2015, 09:01:19 am »
Yes, but it requires full reimplementation of the debugger plugin.
I've started it, but I have other higher priority issues I want to solve first.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5218
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Debugging into a struct containing pointers
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2015, 08:32:40 am »
I think the best method to solve this issue is to create a custom gdb pretty printer for this struct.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.