Author Topic: After build and run result doesnt seem to work properly.  (Read 1575 times)

Offline CodeBloksPro

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
After build and run result doesnt seem to work properly.
« on: January 25, 2015, 12:25:25 am »
After Running build and run, I see the following screens appear



I believe a msg box should appear with the corressponding code...

Do you know what the problem can be here?

Regards

Offline CodeBloksPro

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: After build and run result doesnt seem to work properly.
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2015, 01:01:09 am »
It seems to work fine for the following basic main() exe


Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6613
    • My Best Post
Re: After build and run result doesnt seem to work properly.
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2015, 01:40:20 am »
Read and follow FAQ and you might find the problem.
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28errors%29#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_a_compiler_problem.3F

If you do NOT see the problem, post the full build log and maybe someone else will see the problem.

Edit: You do realize you are NOT likely running the code in the screen post because you never added to the project?

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline CodeBloksPro

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: After build and run result doesnt seem to work properly.
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2015, 02:29:16 am »
Read and follow FAQ and you might find the problem.
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28errors%29#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_a_compiler_problem.3F

If you do NOT see the problem, post the full build log and maybe someone else will see the problem.

Edit: You do realize you are NOT likely running the code in the screen post because you never added to the project?
Tim S.

As the results in both my screenshots are different, doesnt this not show that each time I ran the code the current project on the screen was activated?

If not, the result cmd prompt shud be the same, which it isnt.?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11939
    • Travis build status
Re: After build and run result doesnt seem to work properly.
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2015, 02:32:25 am »
I think the problem is in the code, but I have no prior win32 api experience.
Try to copy paste some tutorial that is known to be working correctly.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6613
    • My Best Post
Re: After build and run result doesnt seem to work properly.
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2015, 02:36:23 am »
Read and follow FAQ and you might find the problem.
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28errors%29#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_a_compiler_problem.3F

If you do NOT see the problem, post the full build log and maybe someone else will see the problem.

Edit: You do realize you are NOT likely running the code in the screen post because you never added to the project?
Tim S.

As the results in both my screenshots are different, doesnt this not show that each time I ran the code the current project on the screen was activated?

If not, the result cmd prompt shud be the same, which it isnt.?

No, because the two main.cpp are different files therefore the code can be different in each.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline CodeBloksPro

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: After build and run result doesnt seem to work properly.
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2015, 02:53:39 am »
Read and follow FAQ and you might find the problem.
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28errors%29#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_a_compiler_problem.3F

If you do NOT see the problem, post the full build log and maybe someone else will see the problem.

Edit: You do realize you are NOT likely running the code in the screen post because you never added to the project?
Tim S.

As the results in both my screenshots are different, doesnt this not show that each time I ran the code the current project on the screen was activated?

If not, the result cmd prompt shud be the same, which it isnt.?

No, because the two main.cpp are different files therefore the code can be different in each.

Tim S.

Ok, I deleted all projects in my folder, reopened codeblocks, Now with only 1 new project seems to work fine.

I still do not fully understand why it was doing this before and fully what you mean, I guess in future with more use of codeblocks il see.

Thanks

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6613
    • My Best Post
Re: After build and run result doesnt seem to work properly.
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2015, 03:58:46 am »
If you want to learn then read the build log!!

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org