Author Topic: How to implement inheritance of custom frames (wxSmith MDI app)  (Read 4154 times)

Offline kathbeau

• Multiple posting newcomer
How to implement inheritance of custom frames (wxSmith MDI app)
« on: December 01, 2014, 06:37:14 pm »
I am new to Code::Blocks, and am using wxSmith to develop a test MDI application.

I want to create a form hierarchy such as this:

BaseChildFrame (derives from wxMDIChildFrame)
  • contains a wxBoxSizer, which
  • contains a wxPanel

It will also contain code that can be invoked from forms that derive from it.

Here's where I went off the rails:

From the wxSmith tab, I selected Add wxFrame, and opened the Advanced options. Changed Base class name to my BaseChildFrame, but otherwise left everything unchanged.

Then I clicked OK. I modified the constructor to take BaseChildFrame* for the parent argument, and hoped to see that my sizer and panel had been brought into the new form/frame as inherited objects. This did not happen, and of course the whole mess does not compile. (I come from long years using the Borland Visual Component Library, which is where I got my expectations.)

I don't see the matter of inheritance for forms covered in the wxSmith tutorials, nor was online searching for combinations of keywords "wxWidgets", "wxSmith", "frame", "inheritance" fruitful.

Hoping somebody can point me to documentation (would love a tutorial or example).

Thanks,
Kathleen

Offline boya

• Single posting newcomer
  • C programming is my favourite
Re: How to implement inheritance of custom frames (wxSmith MDI app)
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2014, 01:04:53 pm »
You did not state your compiling error, so I am not sure how you have modified the constructor of the derived class. Let me guess the compiling error is something like this:
error: expected class-name before '{' token|
or
In constructor 'NewFrame::NewFrame(BaseChildFrame*, wxWindowID, const wxPoint&, const wxSize&)':