Author Topic: The 08 January 2006 build is out.  (Read 38480 times)

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5193
The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« on: January 08, 2006, 11:21:30 pm »
Get quick announcements through the RSS feed http://www.codeblocks.org/nightly/CodeBlock_RSS.xml
A link to the unicode windows wxWidget dll for Code::Blocks : http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/wxmsw26u_gcc_cb.7z

The 08 January 2006 build is out.
  - Windows : http://download.berlios.de/codeblocks/CB_08jan2006_rev1685_win32.7z
  - Linux : not supported yet


Resolved Fixed:

  • Keybinder:Fixed bitmapped menus bug
  • All docking windows are now "named". This will fix the problem of breaking saved layouts when adding new dock windows with each version. Just delete your existing ones (for the last time)
  • Fixed some bugs in AnnoyingDialog
  • Used AnnoyingDialog for layout saving confirmation
  • Keep "Start here" page in-sync with the actual projects/files history when removing files from the history (partial patch #1399518 by sethjackson)
  • Added "Recent files" in "Start here" page
  • The default view layout can no longer be deleted but rather reverted to "factory defaults"
  • Added "Edit->Highlight mode" menu entry for changing the highlighting for the current document
  • Expand folded blocks of code if compiler error is inside it (patch #1394856)
  • ToDo list fix to work both with single-click and double-click (patch #1395490)
  • File properties dialog now displays info about the file (patch #1392899)
  • Fixed auto-complete items loading/saving configuration (would make them all upper-case)
  • Fix a (highly) potential crash when destroying EditorManager
  • Fixed bug with "Tabs at top" notebook tabs context menu entry

Regressions/Confirmed/Annoying/Common bugs:

  • none

Offline artoj

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 206
  • Location: Supporting my team
    • http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2006, 09:20:19 am »
Anybody else having problems with opening CodeBlocks registered files through Explorer?

I'm having the following issue, see attached screenshot.

As you can see, the file, "test.cc" exists in my desktop, but when opening it through Explorer I got the error message. Note that it says Windows can't find the file. Code::Blocks opens it correctly and able to edit and save the file. I tried to debug the whole opening process with FileMonitor but I was unable to find anything weird in it.

I have checked what the registry says:

Code: [Select]
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT

.cc -> CodeBlocks.cc

================
CodeBlocks.cc
================

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CodeBlocks.cc]
@="C++ source file"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CodeBlocks.cc\DefaultIcon]
@="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\CodeBlocks\\codeblocks.exe,3"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CodeBlocks.cc\shell]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CodeBlocks.cc\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CodeBlocks.cc\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\CodeBlocks\\codeblocks.exe\" \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CodeBlocks.cc\shell\open\ddeexec]
@="[Open(\"%1\")]"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CodeBlocks.cc\shell\open\ddeexec\Application]
@="CODEBLOCKS"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CodeBlocks.cc\shell\open\ddeexec\topic]
@="CodeBlocksDDEServer"

CodeBlocks is installed in "C:\Program Files (x86)\CodeBlocks\codeblocks.exe".

This error does not happen in RC2 and I'm able to open the file with notepad (without errors). I'm using Windows x64 Pro.


Offline artoj

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 206
  • Location: Supporting my team
    • http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2006, 09:35:41 am »
OK, I found a solution.

Disabling DDE for .cc will make the error screen go away.

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5193
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2006, 09:36:29 am »
yes, we do.
After RC2 the registering has been changed, next to the 'command' way of doing it in the registry, also a DDE entry has been added. It is that DDE that's causing the failure. On my laptop (XP SP2) it works, on my PC (XP SP2) I get those errors. I have already been looking into it for several time now, and still no success yet.
And on my PC at work (XP SP2) I don't have this problem either, but there CB is not able to take away the binding for .cpp files from dev-cpp.

What a lovely 'windows' world we are living in ;-)

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5193
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2006, 09:38:06 am »
note that you should not allow CB then to check on startup fo the file settingsm otherwise I will reregister each time (if it finds some of the registry settings are missing, like the DDE you removed from the registry). Or did you switch off, run DDE server option in CB, in this latter case you are safe I think ??


Lieven

Offline artoj

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 206
  • Location: Supporting my team
    • http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2006, 09:41:08 am »
note that you should not allow CB then to check on startup fo the file settingsm otherwise I will reregister each time (if it finds some of the registry settings are missing, like the DDE you removed from the registry). Or did you switch off, run DDE server option in CB, in this latter case you are safe I think ??

I used Control Panel - Folder Options - File types tab - .cc - Edit - Use DDE.

Offline artoj

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 206
  • Location: Supporting my team
    • http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2006, 09:47:59 am »
Hmm... how about adding the DDE bug to the common/annoying bug list?

So other newbie nightly testers will be aware of it.

Offline artoj

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 206
  • Location: Supporting my team
    • http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2006, 11:13:15 am »
Another (minor) issue: opening an empty file makes the file tab show the whole file path instead the file name.

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5193
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2006, 11:40:12 am »
Another (minor) issue: opening an empty file makes the file tab show the whole file path instead the file name.

are you sure about this ? I tried it, and it just shows the short file name.
If it is a file which does NOT belong to the project, you get the full path name though, which is normal.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2006, 12:42:54 pm by killerbot »

Offline Michael

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2006, 12:41:27 pm »
Another (minor) issue: opening an empty file makes the file tab show the whole file path instead the file name.

are you sure about this ? I tried it, and it just shows the shaort file name.
If it is a file which does NOT belong to the project, you get the full path name though, which is normal.

I have tried too and remarked no problem. I only get the full path name when I open an empty file that does not belong to a project.

Michael

Offline SamT

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2006, 02:23:45 pm »
Hi all code::blocks team,

Thanks for your efford for daily release and solving bug every day. I encounter a problem on the compile toolbars starting from every develop build.(The screen display correctly in 1.0 RC2) I don't know how to solve it. Does any body have the same problem?

By the way, my c::b works on windows 2000 SP4



[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline artoj

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 206
  • Location: Supporting my team
    • http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2006, 02:25:57 pm »
are you sure about this ? I tried it, and it just shows the short file name.
If it is a file which does NOT belong to the project, you get the full path name though, which is normal.

But when opening a file which does have content and does not belong to a project it shows the short name. IMHO it doesn't make any sense.

Here's how I did it:

1. Create two files, e.g. content.cpp and empty.cpp. Create these files in the Explorer. Write something to content.cpp.

2. Open Code::Blocks and close all tabs and projects.

3. Open both files. You'll notice that the file which had content in it shows the short file name "content.cpp" in the tab but the empty file shows the whole file path and file name.

4. (Optional step) Start typing to the empty file in the CodeBlocks editor, you'll notice that the tab doesn't anymore show the whole file path and file name but short file name.

Is this a feature or a bug?
« Last Edit: January 09, 2006, 02:36:56 pm by artoj »

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2006, 02:43:05 pm »
I encounter a problem on the compile toolbars starting from every develop build.(The screen display correctly in 1.0 RC2) I don't know how to solve it. Does any body have the same problem?

Have you tried "View->Layouts->Delete current" ?
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5193
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2006, 02:47:23 pm »
are you sure about this ? I tried it, and it just shows the short file name.
If it is a file which does NOT belong to the project, you get the full path name though, which is normal.

But when opening a file which does have content and does not belong to a project it shows the short name. IMHO it doesn't make any sense.

Here's how I did it:

1. Create two files, e.g. content.cpp and empty.cpp. Create these files in the Explorer. Write something to content.cpp.

2. Open Code::Blocks and close all tabs and projects.

3. Open both files. You'll notice that the file which had content in it shows the short file name "content.cpp" in the tab but the empty file shows the whole file path and file name.

4. (Optional step) Start typing to the empty file in the CodeBlocks editor, you'll notice that the tab doesn't anymore show the whole file path and file name but short file name.

Is this a feature or a bug?

You are correct, I can reproduce this also.
I would say this is a bug, if it does not even show full path for 'contented' files not belonging to the project, then I would neither do it for empty files not belonging to the project.

@Yiannis and Thomas : what do you think about this ?

Offline SamT

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2006, 02:56:45 pm »

Have you tried "View->Layouts->Delete current" ?

Yes, I tyied the function but still no used...Let me explain my process:
1. delete curent layouts
2. select default layout
3. close C::B
==> at this mement, C::B asks me to save the layout
4. press yes to save it
5. re-open C::B

I found no body report this issue. This might related on my OS, is it?



[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #15 on: January 09, 2006, 03:04:30 pm »
Quote from: killerbot
@Yiannis and Thomas : what do you think about this ?

Fixed in rev1691.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #16 on: January 09, 2006, 03:05:46 pm »
I found no body report this issue. This might related on my OS, is it?

The very first piece of info you should have given: what revision are you using?
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...

Offline thomas

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 3979
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #17 on: January 09, 2006, 03:09:58 pm »
@Yiannis and Thomas : what do you think about this ?
I am quite satisfied with the high quality that we have achieved if people start wondering about such things :)
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5193
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #18 on: January 09, 2006, 03:29:42 pm »
@Yiannis and Thomas : what do you think about this ?
I am quite satisfied with the high quality that we have achieved if people start wondering about such things :)

 8)

User perception is VERY important. I may be 100% state of the art, the first thing the use actually sees is the outside ! For example typos, are mostly considered verly low priority bugs, well that's something I am evangelism against. They are not low priority, they are on the other hand easy to fix ;-)

Woops, going rather off topic ;-)

Offline grv575

  • Official tester
  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 381
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #19 on: January 09, 2006, 03:34:17 pm »
@Yiannis and Thomas : what do you think about this ?
I am quite satisfied with the high quality that we have achieved if people start wondering about such things :)

I think it's an understatement.   :D
What do you guys think in terms of releasing another RC build soon since so much has changed since RC2.  The intention would be to get college kids to have a decent IDE option to checkout now that course projects are starting up again...which doesn't happen toward the middle of the semester once things are rolling and you have all your tools and project management processes in place.

Offline SamT

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #20 on: January 09, 2006, 04:17:19 pm »

The very first piece of info you should have given: what revision are you using?


I am starting from 1.0 RC2 (codeblocks-1.0rc2_mingw.exe) and then upgrade each SVN build from http://paginas.terra.com.br/informatica/mauricio/codeblocks/ <--- the compile toolbar is overlapped with debug toolbar in first several builds. After that, when the time pass, new build has been generated, the compile toolbar became this situation. (only 'Build' word displayed) Finally there is a Nightly build.  :) I try this, however, the problem is still there.

The OS which I test on
1. windows 2000 sp4 (with Chinese character)
2. windows XP sp2 (with Chinese character)

Seems nobody encounter this problem. Shall I submit this on bug tracker for tracking?

Offline squizzz

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 132
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #21 on: January 09, 2006, 04:25:44 pm »
Seems nobody encounter this problem. Shall I submit this on bug tracker for tracking?
I also have this one with latest builds (ones with wxAUI) under Windows 2000.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2006, 04:27:43 pm by squizzz »
this space is for rent

Offline kkez

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 153
    • WinapiZone
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #22 on: January 09, 2006, 04:29:05 pm »

Have you tried "View->Layouts->Delete current" ?

Yes, I tyied the function but still no used...Let me explain my process:
1. delete curent layouts
2. select default layout
3. close C::B
==> at this mement, C::B asks me to save the layout
4. press yes to save it
5. re-open C::B

I found no body report this issue. This might related on my OS, is it?



Don't save it, click on "No"

Offline artoj

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 206
  • Location: Supporting my team
    • http://ajonsson.kapsi.fi/
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #23 on: January 09, 2006, 04:45:20 pm »
Fixed in rev1691.

Thanks. :)

Yet another minor issue:

1. Launch Code::Blocks.
2. Open random project.
3. Look at the main toolbar. The save button is enabled but you can't press it. Also the print button (next to the save button) is disabled but you can press it.

Offline Michael

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1608
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #24 on: January 09, 2006, 04:57:30 pm »
3. Look at the main toolbar. The save button is enabled but you can't press it. Also the print button (next to the save button) is disabled but you can press it.

I have remarked it too with the save button, but I do not have tried until now (my notebook went crazy :?). The save button seems not to change state (enabled/disabled). It look always the same (or as it is enabled). It is a bit confusing.

The print button seems disabled (even if you can press it). It is a potential bug or just a design choice?

Michael

Offline mandrav

  • Project Leader
  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 4291
    • Code::Blocks IDE
Re: The 08 January 2006 build is out.
« Reply #25 on: January 09, 2006, 05:31:15 pm »
I have remarked it too with the save button, but I do not have tried until now (my notebook went crazy :?). The save button seems not to change state (enabled/disabled). It look always the same (or as it is enabled). It is a bit confusing.

The print button seems disabled (even if you can press it). It is a potential bug or just a design choice?

It's a wx problem which I 've noticed in XP. The bitmap doesn't change state. It also happens for the debugger's "stop" button (the compiler's "stop" works though :O). In linux it works fine.
Be patient!
This bug will be fixed soon...