Author Topic: Get wxWidgets 3.0 to work on C::B, Win7  (Read 27440 times)

Offline thor36

• Multiple posting newcomer
Get wxWidgets 3.0 to work on C::B, Win7
« on: January 31, 2014, 11:48:42 pm »
Hello everyone ! It's my first post here, and great to see such a lively community of C::B users.

I am fairly new to programming in C++, and totally new to using 3rd party libraries, so please have patience and don't mind my silly questions  :) Today I have been trying to set up wxWidgets for use with C::B, with no success. I am using Win 7, 64 bit. I downloaded the latest version of C::B ( codeblocks-13.12mingw-setup.exe ), and the latest wxWidgets 3.0 package ( wxMSW-3.0.0_gcc471TDM_x64_ReleaseDLL.7z ) and installed both. I tried to follow the guide on this page : http://wiki.wxwidgets.org/CodeBlocks_Setup_Guide
I followed steps and did what it said, but honestly, I had no idea what was going on, because I have never before compiled a library. Nor do I know what these steps mean and what they do. I ended up with trying to run a basic wxWidget 3.0 project on C::B, but ( surprisingly !  ;D ) it didn't work, because of missing files / headers.

During the process of following the guide, I believe I have messed things up. Therefore, I would like to clean up the mess first. And then, hopefully with your help, set things up and running as they should be. I would greatly appreciate your guidance through the process, and if possible also an explanation of what the single steps are. It would benefit me greatly in my learning process, and probably to others with similar issues as well !  :)
Thank you very much, and keep up the great work with the forum  :)

Offline stahta01

• Lives here!
    • My Best Post
Re: Get wxWidgets 3.0 to work on C::B, Win7
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2014, 01:38:03 am »
Read the stuff on this link http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=WxWindowsQuickRef