Author Topic: [resolved] No targets in New Project wizard  (Read 41575 times)

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
[resolved] No targets in New Project wizard
« on: October 18, 2013, 07:06:40 am »
Hello everyone,
what could be the problem of that in New Project Wizard there is no selectable project types.
I did build yesterday last SVN Repo, Rev 9402 and since that moment not able to make a new project



The Plugin Scripted Wizard is enabled and it's Version is 0.9

The CB is builded against wxWidgets 2.8.12

Would be great, if some one help me to find out the reason.
Tanks,
Alexei
« Last Edit: October 20, 2013, 10:31:33 pm by MasterAlexei »

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2013, 07:47:54 am »
Hi, thanks for the report, I just build the C::B rev Rev 9402 (Codeblocks.cbp), and I see the same issue even after I run the update.bat.

If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2013, 09:03:20 am »
Hi, thanks for the report, I just build the C::B rev Rev 9402 (Codeblocks.cbp), and I see the same issue even after I run the update.bat.


Works fine on linux with projectfiles (whole workspace) and autotools, with wx2.8 and wxtrunk.

I will test on win7 now.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2013, 09:34:22 am »
Hi, thanks for the report, I just build the C::B rev Rev 9402 (Codeblocks.cbp), and I see the same issue even after I run the update.bat.


Works fine on linux with projectfiles (whole workspace) and autotools, with wx2.8 and wxtrunk.

I will test on win7 now.
No issues on win7 (neither wx2.8 nor wxtrunk).
I removed the devel* and output* folder before the build.
If you did not do that, you might have stumbled over a pch-issue (again).

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2013, 11:04:48 am »
Hello together,

I did removed the devel* and output* folders, did RE-build CB and Contrib Plugins (in CB self, using the .workspace files). It took a little bit more time, as before, but the problem is still there, as on the picture above - there are no Proj. targets at all.
And, I have WinXP on my work place.

Thanks in advance for a quick solution ;-)

Alexey

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2013, 11:13:48 am »
Can you start from commandline with -v parameter, to see if you get a meaningful message ?
Where do you have pch's (*.gch) ?
Only below output and devel or also in src/include ?
If the second is true, please remove them and try again.
Another  (more time-consuming) way would be to remove the .objs folder also or do a clean checkout and build C::B there.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2013, 11:17:23 am »
I'm building C::B now, I have deleted the folder: cb_trunk\src\.objs, where the gch files locates.
Let me wait for the result.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2013, 11:26:07 am »
I'm building C::B now, I have deleted the folder: cb_trunk\src\.objs, where the gch files locates.
Let me wait for the result.
Bad news: the result is that I still have this issue.
I'm using wxWidgets 2.8.12, WinXP, MinGW-build-dwarf2-4.8.1-compiler-suite.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 83
    • Fun electronic
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2013, 11:27:17 am »
Can you start from commandline with -v parameter, to see if you get a meaningful message ?

Does not happen any thing (CB is still starts, of course ). With /d or /v or with both of them there is no output to console. I did started also from the devel folder, where the debug info not yet stripped, but there also no output at all. (may be it is windows version behavior?)

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7582
    • My Best Post
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2013, 02:22:10 pm »
I'm building C::B now, I have deleted the folder: cb_trunk\src\.objs, where the gch files locates.
Let me wait for the result.
Bad news: the result is that I still have this issue.
I'm using wxWidgets 2.8.12, WinXP, MinGW-build-dwarf2-4.8.1-compiler-suite.


I had the issue using wx 2.8 branch, Win7 SP1 32-bit, TDM SJLJ 4.8.1 compiler.

Now trying 4.7.1 compiler.

Special steps taken:
Deleted objects folder before build
Deleted devel/share Folder before build
Deleted output Folder after build before update.bat

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2013, 02:41:50 pm »
Works with GCC 4.8.1 on Linux (Ubuntu 13.10).  Does anyone know what the last revision that worked for Windows was?  9398?  (9399 was the most recent touch to ScriptedWizard code, but that change should be completely unrelated to this problem...)

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2013, 03:51:11 pm »
...(9399 was the most recent touch to ScriptedWizard code, but that change should be completely unrelated to this problem...)
I can confirm that rev 9398 has this issue.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2013, 03:53:46 pm »
Did you try it with a real clean (fresh checkout) build tree ?

Did you try it with gcc 4.7 ?

Is it XP only or does this also happen on other windows revisions ?

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #13 on: October 18, 2013, 04:14:44 pm »
Did you try it with a real clean (fresh checkout) build tree ?
Yes, I just finish a real clean checkout and build, but still have the issue.

Quote
Did you try it with gcc 4.7 ?
I will do it right now using PCX's GCC 4.6.3 and report back soon.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: No targets in New Project wizard
« Reply #14 on: October 18, 2013, 04:29:28 pm »
Quote
Did you try it with gcc 4.7 ?
I will do it right now using PCX's GCC 4.6.3 and report back soon.
I can confirm that when using PCX's MinGW GCC4.6.3 (which was the compiler I use for last two years), building rev 9402 still has this issue on WinXP.

Sorry, I only have WinXP system.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.