Author Topic: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen  (Read 9436 times)

Offline ifeelfree

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« on: July 31, 2013, 04:44:04 pm »
I am now reading how to use Pretty Printers to display STL container variables when debugging. I strictly follow the instructions of http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Pretty_Printers , but I was stopped by the debugger initialization command setting. As I am now using Ubutun, the debugger initialization command section is frozen and does not allow users to input commands.  I tried the work-around by opening a CBP project file via a file manager. But still, it does not work.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11589
    • Travis build status
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2013, 05:21:53 pm »
What version of C::B are you using? If it is not 12.05 or newer, please update.
If this bug is what I think it is, then we've fixed it very long ago.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ifeelfree

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2013, 05:28:39 pm »
I am using C::B 12.11

What version of C::B are you using? If it is not 12.05 or newer, please update.
If this bug is what I think it is, then we've fixed it very long ago.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11589
    • Travis build status
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2013, 05:40:34 pm »
Then you'll have to post a screen shot, so we can see what do you mean by "frozen".

p.s.
Quote
     A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
    Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
    A: Top-posting.
    Q: What is the most annoying thing in e-mail?
p.p.s. quoting the previous post is just a waste of resources and time.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ifeelfree

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2013, 06:03:57 pm »

« Last Edit: July 31, 2013, 06:05:33 pm by ifeelfree »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11589
    • Travis build status
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2013, 06:06:52 pm »
Hm, this should have been fixed long ago.
Search the forum for a manual way to fix it or how to install a night build.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline blauzahn

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2013, 11:18:19 pm »
I also observed the collapsed height of the input-field at a fairly recent svn (few weeks ago) on Ubuntu 12.04 when I tried to play with gdb pretty print.

As a quick and dirty ad-hoc fix I opened the dialog via cb-wxsmith and changed the height of the field before I compile cb from scratch.
I always compile cb with gnu-autotools.


Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11589
    • Travis build status
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2013, 12:44:58 am »
blauzahn: Can you try to apply the same fix to debugger_options_dlg.xrc file as done in rev 7579 to the select_target.xrc?

Code: [Select]
Index: src/plugins/debuggergdb/resources/debugger_options_dlg.xrc
===================================================================
--- src/plugins/debuggergdb/resources/debugger_options_dlg.xrc  (revision 9239)
+++ src/plugins/debuggergdb/resources/debugger_options_dlg.xrc  (working copy)
@@ -63,11 +63,12 @@
                        </object>
                        <object class="sizeritem">
                                <object class="wxStaticBoxSizer">
-                                       <label>Debugger intialization commands</label>
+                                       <label>Debugger initialization commands</label>
                                        <orient>wxVERTICAL</orient>
                                        <object class="sizeritem">
                                                <object class="wxTextCtrl" name="txtInit">
                                                        <style>wxTE_MULTILINE</style>
+                                                       <minsize>200,100</minsize>
                                                </object>
                                                <flag>wxBOTTOM|wxEXPAND|wxALIGN_LEFT|wxALIGN_CENTER_VERTICAL</flag>
                                                <border>5</border>

Something like this....
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline blauzahn

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2013, 10:28:41 pm »
Code: [Select]
<minsize>200,100</minsize>
did not help. As this does not show up in wxSmith I changed it directly (wx2.8.12).
Changing Fixed min size on wxTextCtrl and/or wxStaticBoxSizer had no effect either.

If I insert instead at the very same spot:
Code: [Select]
<size>-1,25</size>
the TextCtrl gets a sufficient height but does not expand of course. I can live with that. To stay a bit more device independent
one should prefer Dialog Units or something like that.

Alternatively, leaving out multiline works as well since one line has a well defined height (DoGetBestSize?).

This is reproducable (back and forth).

configure: SVN revision 12.11svn9239 (2013-07-29 22:56:37)

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11589
    • Travis build status
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2013, 10:36:45 pm »
Code: [Select]
<minsize>200,100</minsize>
did not help. As this does not show up in wxSmith I changed it directly (wx2.8.12).
Changing Fixed min size on wxTextCtrl and/or wxStaticBoxSizer had no effect either.
Have you applied my patch, then make && make install or building from codeblocks and running cd src/ && ./update?
Using size is not an option. Min size have fixed it in the other place.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline blauzahn

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2013, 01:04:41 am »
patch -u -p0 <your.patch was rejected. So I applied the diff line from your patch via editor and
cross-checked it afterwards with kompare and diffuse against the current svn file on codeblocks.org.

As usually, I have cleaned and then built cb via configure and make in a directory that is parallel to trunk.

Prior sudo make install I remove the old codeblocks files and directories in /usr/local completely. This
way I avoid accidentally using any files of a prior installation (apart from user-settings in ~/.codeblocks).
And the fact, that I can switch the observable behaviour back and forth with a new install does not deny
that.

I guessed that using size is not generally applicable.

Is calling ./src/update mandatory? At least the Wiki does not mention it to be
necessary when you install cb from source on linux. I have never invoked it before directly.

wx-common 2.8.12.1-6ubuntu2
g++ (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.6.4-1ubuntu1~12.04) 4.6.4
  the current versions, provided by ubuntu


Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 11589
    • Travis build status
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2013, 08:43:53 am »
./update is needed only if you build codeblocks with codeblocks. If you use make then it is not.

Pretty strange.

@Jens: Do you still have an ubuntu?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7265
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2013, 10:39:46 am »
./update is needed only if you build codeblocks with codeblocks. If you use make then it is not.

Pretty strange.

@Jens: Do you still have an ubuntu?
Yes I have.
I will see, if I can reproduce the issue.

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7265
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2013, 10:16:59 pm »
I just committed a fix for this issue and for another layout issue of the debugger-setting dialog.
It is not possible to set MinSize via wxSmith in xrc-files, only in wxs-files, which generate sourcees and headers.
This seems to be by design in wxSmith, but I think this coud probably be told a bug.

But even with a patched wxSmith, that can set the MinSize of the textctrl in the xrc it does not work correctly.
The xrc looks like the one with the patch of oBFusCATed and this is ignored.
If I set the MinSize inside the surrounding sizeritem object directly in xrc (like it was in the select-target dialog) it works, but wxSmith removes it if it touches the xrc the next time, and the patched wxSmith, sets it inside the textctrl-object (like oBFusCATed's patch) , what does not work.

By the way, the minsize-tag in select-target* xrc-file does not exist anymore, but option is set to 1 instead.
This works for selected-target diialog, but unfortunately not in debugger-settings, so I decided to fix it inside the cpp-file which loads the xrc, as the txtctrl is touched there anyway.

Offline blauzahn

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 92
Re: Debugger Initialization Command is frozen
« Reply #14 on: August 06, 2013, 11:22:23 pm »
Ah! It works in svn 9246 on Ubuntu. Thanks!