Author Topic: debugger  (Read 7943 times)

Offline Aristotle

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
debugger
« on: July 11, 2013, 09:57:31 am »
whenever i try to run my program the debugger panel  under   logs&other says

Building to ensure sources are up-to-date
Selecting target:
Release
Adding source dir: E:\codeblockPrograms\fff\
Adding source dir: E:\codeblockPrograms\fff\
Adding file: E:\codeblockPrograms\fff\bin\Release\fff.exe
Changing directory to: E:/codeblockPrograms/fff/.
Set variable: PATH=.;C:\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin;C:\CodeBlocks\MinGW;C:\Program Files\PC Connectivity Solution;C:\Windows\System32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\wbem;C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0;C:\Program Files\WIDCOMM\Bluetooth Software;C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer;c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\100\Tools\Binn;c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\100\DTS\Binn;c:\opencv\build\x86\vc10\bin

[debug]Command-line: C:\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin\gdb.exe -nx -fullname  -quiet  -args E:/codeblockPrograms/fff/bin/Release/fff.exe
[debug]Working dir : E:\codeblockPrograms\fff

Starting debugger: C:\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin\gdb.exe -nx -fullname  -quiet  -args E:/codeblockPrograms/fff/bin/Release/fff.exe
done

[debug]> set prompt >>>>>>cb_gdb:

Registered new type: wxString
Registered new type: STL String
Registered new type: STL Vector
Setting breakpoints

[debug]E:/codeblockPrograms/fff/bin/Release/fff.exe: No such file or directory.
[debug](gdb)
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> show version
[debug]GNU gdb (GDB) 7.5
[debug]Copyright (C) 2012 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
[debug]License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
[debug]This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
[debug]There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
[debug]and "show warranty" for details.
[debug]This GDB was configured as "i686-pc-mingw32".
[debug]For bug reporting instructions, please see:
[debug]<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set confirm off

Debugger name and version: GNU gdb (GDB) 7.5

[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set width 0
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set height 0
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set breakpoint pending on
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set print asm-demangle on
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set unwindonsignal on
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set print elements 0
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set new-console on
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> set disassembly-flavor att
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> catch throw
[debug]No symbol table is loaded.  Use the "file" command.
[debug]Catchpoint 1 (throw)
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> source C:\CodeBlocks\share\codeblocks/scripts/stl-views-1.0.3.gdb
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> directory E:/codeblockPrograms/fff/
[debug]Source directories searched: E:/codeblockPrograms/fff;$cdir;$cwd
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:
[debug]> run
[debug]No executable specified, use `target exec'.
[debug]Starting program: 
[debug]>>>>>>cb_gdb:

Starting the debuggee failed: No executable specified, use `target exec'.

[debug]> quit


i have tried whatever i found under  "Debugger finished with status 0 Starting the debuggee failed: No executable specified, use `target exec'.

[debug]> quit " topics like omitting  spaces or unchecking -s flag ,but nothing works any help would be grateful

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: debugger
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2013, 10:24:09 am »
please use codetags for output

Code: [Select]
[debug]E:/codeblockPrograms/fff/bin/Release/fff.exe: No such file or directory.does the file exists?

if not your build process was not successfully.

Rebuild, and post the full build log in code tags

greetings

Online Commaster

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: debugger
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2013, 10:36:59 am »
Why are you trying to debug a Release build in the first place? It has little to no debug info...

Offline Aristotle

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: debugger
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2013, 03:16:00 pm »
 
" please use code tags for output"

1) What is this code tags ?
2)"[debug]E:/codeblockPrograms/fff/bin/Release/fff.exe: No such file or directory." the file does exist ,fff is the name of my project?

"-------------- Clean: Debug in fff (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler)---------------

Cleaned "fff - Debug"

-------------- Build: Debug in fff (compiler: GNU GCC Compiler)---------------

mingw32-g++.exe -g     -c E:\codeblockPrograms\fff\main.cpp -o obj\Debug\main.o
mingw32-g++.exe  -o bin\Debug\fff.exe obj\Debug\main.o   
Process terminated with status 0 (0 minutes, 1 seconds)
0 errors, 0 warnings (0 minutes, 1 seconds)
"
 the above is the result under "build log" after rebuilt


Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: debugger
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2013, 04:15:32 pm »
Quote
When posting code to the forum it is extremely helpful for those who are trying to help you if you enclose your code in the [ code ][ /code ] tags.

There are two ways to do this

    Write out the [ code ]Your code here[ /code ] tags manually (without the spaces)
    Use the code # button and paste your text into the message text field.

fff.exe is the program you compiled.... fff is your project name
the program has to exist in the PATH_TO_YOUR_PROJECT\bin\debug folder... Does the file exists?

from your build log i can't see any problem. try to rebuild and than to debug...

greetings
« Last Edit: July 13, 2013, 04:19:09 pm by BlueHazzard »

Offline Aristotle

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: debugger
« Reply #5 on: July 13, 2013, 05:40:51 pm »
Sorry for the trouble cause ,it was my AVG antivirus doing preventing from accessing the .exe file generated by code block ,i'll have to change  my antivirus, Thanks a lot for the cooperation.

Online Commaster

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: debugger
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2013, 08:50:16 pm »
The problem is actually in that he is rebuilding the Debug build while trying to debug a Release build. (Look at the paths in build and debug logs)

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: debugger
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2013, 11:08:29 pm »
The problem is actually in that he is rebuilding the Debug build while trying to debug a Release build. (Look at the paths in build and debug logs)

generally this is no problem... if there are no debug symbols in the executable (release) gdb will say it, or he doesn't see any variables...
in this case gdb could not find/execute the application
Quote
Starting the debuggee failed: No executable specified, use `target exec'.
the problem is the Antivirus software... this shitty heuristic detection of viruses make a lot trouble in the last time, (also for me...)

greetings

Online Commaster

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 86
Re: debugger
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2013, 11:54:12 pm »
Maybe, just maybe, ... there was never ever a release build built...

Offline BlueHazzard

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 2616
Re: debugger
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2013, 12:38:58 am »
Maybe that's true ;)
greetings