Author Topic: 1st widget placed on a form occupies the whole form.  (Read 4138 times)

dcbdbis

1st widget placed on a form occupies the whole form.
« on: June 30, 2013, 05:12:38 am »
Good evening,

Just installed Code::Blocks. I am a veteran C++ programmer moving from C++ Builder series from Embarcadero to Code::Blocks. I can tell you I like the look and feel very much for a RAD environment. I need to to allow cross-compilation. I am using forms not dialogs, and wxSmith.

I am using build 12.11.

Here is my issue: When I place my first object on the form, the object occupies the entire form's space until I place another object on the form, then the original object goes back to the original size that I expected in the first place. Very weird.

The workaround for me is to place a "custom" widget on the form, until I get two more objects on the form, then everything stays in the location and size I specified at design time. It's annoying, but not insurmountable.

I did some searches in the forum but came up empty handed.

Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks!

Dave

Offline Alpha

• Developer
  • Lives here!
Re: 1st widget placed on a form occupies the whole form.
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2013, 06:53:12 am »
It sounds like you might be unfamiliar with the wxWidgets concept of sizerswxSmith tutorials from the wiki might also help.

Does that address your issue?

dcbdbis

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2013, 08:27:55 am »
Thank you for the reply.....But I think I need to clarify...

And yes I did read your references which I had already been through. But I went through them again to make sure I didn't miss anything obvious. I guess best stated, the sizer is not behaving as the documentation states it should.