Author Topic: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.  (Read 191757 times)

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6672
    • My Best Post
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #60 on: July 05, 2013, 10:26:41 pm »
Something is broken. It should do it just once.

That is the way it used to work; I put dummy paths like C:\ in the ones I did NOT have installed.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #61 on: July 05, 2013, 10:47:55 pm »
It should only show up on first launch, and once more each time the compiler plugin has a major change.

It is possible Code::Blocks is crashing on exit, so it fails to save its configuration file, which would cause it to believe every launch is the first launch.

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #62 on: July 06, 2013, 12:31:13 am »
Shouldn't I be warned about the crash somehow by Windows? Also there is no crash report (whatever its name was) file in cb folder. Can it be related to the changing of advanced compiler settings somehow? One of the latest nightlies asked me to save the new default advanced compiler settings and I believe I said 'no'.

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #63 on: July 09, 2013, 12:15:22 am »
I think it's the compiler plugin mulfunctioning. If I disable the compiler plugin cb starts up just fine. When I enable it again it looks for compilers and does that every time I start cb. What may be the problem and the solution?

Will it work if I manually edit the config file cuz that compiler detection thing is driving me nuts?

Online oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12122
    • Travis build status
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #64 on: July 09, 2013, 12:30:04 am »
Can you post the default.conf file?

Also can you try to start cb from command line and to pass parameters like:
codeblocks.exe -v -d  --log-to-file=somefile --debug-log-to-file=somefile

After the crash has happened you can post the files here.

p.s. use paste bin like service.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #65 on: July 09, 2013, 01:47:29 am »
When I try to run 'codeblocks.exe -v -d  --log-to-file=somefile --debug-log-to-file=somefile', I get "Unexpected characters following option 'log-to-file'". I tried many variations in place of 'somefile' and even the files that already exist but no luck. Can you give a simple example with a name for the file pls.

My default.conf is here though, http://pastebin.com/6mBgKUmP

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6672
    • My Best Post
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #66 on: July 09, 2013, 03:45:45 am »
When I try to run 'codeblocks.exe -v -d  --log-to-file=somefile --debug-log-to-file=somefile', I get "Unexpected characters following option 'log-to-file'". I tried many variations in place of 'somefile' and even the files that already exist but no luck. Can you give a simple example with a name for the file pls.

My default.conf is here though, http://pastebin.com/6mBgKUmP


Try without the filenames as in

Code: [Select]
codeblocks.exe -v -d  --log-to-file --debug-log-to-file

Then look for files called codeblocks-debug.log and codeblocks.log

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #67 on: July 09, 2013, 12:08:27 pm »
Thnx Tim it worked. It seems the problem was me forgetting to update the 'installation directories' for the 2 tdm compilers I created.
Code: [Select]
Added compiler "TDM GCC Compiler 32-bit"
Added compiler "TDM GCC Compiler 64-bit"
Master path of compiler ID "tdm_gcc_compiler_32-bit" is empty -> triggers auto-detection.
Master path of compiler ID "tdm_gcc_compiler_64-bit" is empty -> triggers auto-detection.

After updating the compiler paths to correct directories, cb no longer tries to detect compilers at startup but it still takes much more time to launch than launching with compiler plugin disabled. So my guess is cb still tries to detect compilers but doesn't show the detected compilers screen. 'cb-log' and 'cb-debug.log' here,
http://pastebin.com/0YnjGTAN
http://pastebin.com/8jpd8Ncr

Offline scarphin

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 644
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #68 on: July 13, 2013, 05:46:05 pm »
There is something wrong with the 'bin' field of 'global variables'. When I enter some variable there, it doesn't change when the 'current variable' changed. Also it cannot be saved.

Win7 x64, rev9158

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7265
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #69 on: July 13, 2013, 07:37:35 pm »
There is something wrong with the 'bin' field of 'global variables'. When I enter some variable there, it doesn't change when the 'current variable' changed. Also it cannot be saved.

Win7 x64, rev9158

Should be fixed in trunk (svn r9206).
Thanks for reporting this !

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5247
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #70 on: July 14, 2013, 06:05:24 am »
There is something wrong with the 'bin' field of 'global variables'. When I enter some variable there, it doesn't change when the 'current variable' changed. Also it cannot be saved.

Win7 x64, rev9158

Should be fixed in trunk (svn r9206).
Thanks for reporting this !
Thanks, Jens, this bug was introduced by me several months ago (when I introduce the "bin" field). :-[
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline xawari

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • programming, usability ctrl
    • welcome to reality
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #71 on: July 20, 2013, 08:59:30 pm »
Hello guys, I'm back from long absence. Just catched another crash here:
I tried to use file search in C::B to find broken files on a flash drive (they're filled with 1111111111s). I'm not really sure this is a right way to use IDE :) , but still, I have to report it. So: after using parameters provided on attached screenshot, CB hangs (possibly working, full CPU utilization for a few seconds, then 0%). Then abort/retry/ignore dialog pops out. When I try "abort" or "retry", unknown exception rises and CB terminates. My environment and CB version are visible at the screenshot.
┌──────────────────────────────────────────────────────╖
in another thousand years we'll be machines or gods█
╘══════════════════════════════════════════════════════╝

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7265
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #72 on: July 21, 2013, 01:01:31 am »
Hello guys, I'm back from long absence. Just catched another crash here:
I tried to use file search in C::B to find broken files on a flash drive (they're filled with 1111111111s). I'm not really sure this is a right way to use IDE :) , but still, I have to report it. So: after using parameters provided on attached screenshot, CB hangs (possibly working, full CPU utilization for a few seconds, then 0%). Then abort/retry/ignore dialog pops out. When I try "abort" or "retry", unknown exception rises and CB terminates. My environment and CB version are visible at the screenshot.
This should be fixed in trunk (svn r9214).

Offline Folco

  • Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 343
    • Folco's blog (68k lover)
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #73 on: July 21, 2013, 08:38:39 pm »
Hi guys,

I'm on a virtualized Debian 7 x64. I try to build CB, sugin my usual script :
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/bash

cd ~/sourcesCB

svn checkout http://svn.code.sf.net/p/codeblocks/code/trunk .

./bootstrap
./configure --with-contrib-plugins=all

make
sudo make install

bootstrap is present, but configure seems to be missing :
Code: [Select]
[email protected]:~$ buildCB.sh
U    src/sdk/wxscintilla/src/scintilla/src/AutoComplete.cxx
U    src/src/find_replace.cpp

Fetching external item into 'src/plugins/contrib/FortranProject'
Checked out external at revision 45.

Checked out revision 9215.
Using 'svn --xml info' to get the revision
Found revision: '9215' '2013-07-21 16:23:04'
libtoolize: putting auxiliary files in `.'.
libtoolize: copying file `./ltmain.sh'
libtoolize: putting macros in AC_CONFIG_MACRO_DIR, `m4'.
libtoolize: copying file `m4/libtool.m4'
libtoolize: copying file `m4/ltoptions.m4'
libtoolize: copying file `m4/ltsugar.m4'
libtoolize: copying file `m4/ltversion.m4'
libtoolize: copying file `m4/lt~obsolete.m4'
./bootstrap: 70: aclocal: not found
/home/folco/bin/buildCB.sh: line 8: ./configure: No such file or directory
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
Did I miss something ? Thanks in advance. :)
Kernel Extremist - PedroM power

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7265
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: The 16 June 2013 build (9158) is out.
« Reply #74 on: July 21, 2013, 09:00:44 pm »
Quote
[...]
./bootstrap: 70: aclocal: not found
Looks like you are missing the automake package or it is broken.