Author Topic: Visual C++ 2010 + Windows SDK toolchain cannot be set  (Read 6097 times)

Offline onesteplower

• Multiple posting newcomer
Visual C++ 2010 + Windows SDK toolchain cannot be set
« on: May 10, 2013, 08:06:44 am »
When I set the path to one tool, it changes the directory for every other tool to that path.  So, as soon as I set the path for the next tool, Code::Blocks changes the path to the former tool so that it's incorrect.  This happens even if I add all paths under the "additional paths" tab.  Will these programs work if I just copy them all to the same folder as a workaround?

edit: I should mention that I'm still learning.  After a break from coding and thinking it over, Code Blocks was the most comfortable IDE I used while studying before.  Step one has to be to understand compilers, linkers, and tools a bit better so the start of that is at least setting up however many I can grab.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2013, 08:50:42 am by onesteplower »

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: Visual C++ 2010 + Windows SDK toolchain cannot be set
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2013, 09:21:52 am »
Please describe, what and where are you entering, so we can help you.
Your current description is something like: "I entered some paths and it didn't worked, help me"
We have deficit of magic balls, so you'll have to try harder :)
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline onesteplower

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2013, 10:24:51 am »
lmao  Yeah, I guess that is kind of vague.

Here's what I want the paths to be, if I'm trying to do this correctly:

C Compiler: D:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\bin\cl.exe
C++ Compiler: D:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\bin\cl.exe
Link for Dynamic Libs: D:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\bin\link.exe