Author Topic: New person seeking understanding  (Read 6320 times)

whtemple1959

New person seeking understanding
« on: November 25, 2012, 08:14:37 pm »
Ok so let's get the chuckle first...I a ma certified bookkeeper who can understand the US tax code. I am not a programer and I am yet to grasp your magic...but I am trying so give me points.

I want to build a game for my 3 year old.

I use Window but I am learning Ubuntu My partner uses a Mac so I want to make this game playable on all three.
I do research and find that Qt and Code::Blocks appear to be the best options. Ah but, Code::Blocks has interface for much more than Qt so Code::Blocks is the choice.

I am currently working strictly in a Windows XP environment because that is what I am most familiar with.

To build my project I searched for how to make a planet and I found an open source project that will work. Upon researching it and discussing the code with the creator it appears I need GLUT and to build a GLUT project

But C::B complains about not having files so off to download GLUT.

Now this gets me thinking and looking and here are my questions.

1) C::B has a folder mingw so does that mean I do not need mingwinstalled to my system?
2) I do not see msys within the mingw folder like it is in c:\mingw\msys so does C::B need msys?
Another little snippet I am interested in using was written using Qt
3)Will I need to install QT or just get some files in order to create a Qt project in C::B?
4) as if programming is not confusing enough why isn't there an internal toolbox/3rparty folder for putting the other libraries in?
It really is confusing what is needed and where they need to be...
5) Wouldn't it be beneficial to have a folder where the Irrlicht(I think I need this), Ogre, Glut, QT and all the other types of projects could keep the needed bin,includes,lib et cetera?