Author Topic: Pelles C versus Code::Blocks  (Read 6588 times)

Offline equation

• Single posting newcomer
Pelles C versus Code::Blocks
« on: October 18, 2012, 03:43:37 am »
Hi Members,

I am new to programming.  I have decided to learn the C language and then C++. My primary focus at this point is C.

I would like to utilize an IDE. I have a small bit of experience in C programming as I have worked through some tutorials in the past. I have chosen two IDE's that have very good support. They are Pelles C and Code::Blocks.

Pelles C is a lite download. Only about 10 MB or so and has a good forum. Code::Blocks is a 70 MB download and has C++ as well and an oustanding forum. It also has availability for GUI programming in C++.

I'm primarily using a web site called www.cprogramming.com as a learning source as they offer many tutorials. They recommend Code::Blocks as a their IDE but I'm sure Pelles C would work as well.

I found this on a forum dated 2/28/2011 and have no idea of its validity or if it matters at my level.

**Begin**

The big advantage of PellesC over Code::Blocks is the IDE features. If you go with Code::Blocks and MinGW you will need to find your own Resource, Dialog, Icon, Bitmap, String Table and Message Table editors, all of which are included in PellesC from the git-go. (And good luck finding a free standing Message Table editor!)

**End**

Can anyone suggest which IDE and why?

Thank you

Offline ollydbg

• Developer
  • Lives here!
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Pelles C versus Code::Blocks
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 06:38:40 am »
I found this on a forum dated 2/28/2011 and have no idea of its validity or if it matters at my level.

**Begin**