Author Topic: Debugger keybinding  (Read 8981 times)

Offline cacb

• Lives here!
Debugger keybinding
« on: July 16, 2012, 09:13:45 pm »
I have been using MS Visual Studio for many, many years and have grown accustomed to the MS debugger keybindings. Actually, the Visual Studio debugger is rather good too, so that is one reason I have been using the MSVC compiler in Code::Blocks. I have simply created a simple tool that launches the Visual Studio GUI when debugging my Code::Blocks projects on Windows. Therefore, my keybinder habits remain, i.e. mostly these

MSVC       C::B           Description
   ----       ----           -----------
   F5         F8             Start/Continue
   F10        F7             Next Line
   F11        Shift+F7       Step Into
   Shift+F11  Shift+Ctrl+F7  Step Out

Now that the C::B debugger has improved in many ways, I'd like to try and use it more, especially under Linux. The default keybinding for the debugger remains an obstacle though, I would like to continue using the MSVC keybinding scheme, as I am so used to it and find the C::B scheme a distraction when debugging.

So I would like to configure the debugger keybindings according to the MSVC scheme shown above (list is not complete). It seems to me I have no way to redefine the debugger keybindings in C::B, but I may have overlooked some way to use the Keybinder plugin or something like that? Is there a config file for this somewhere?

zabzonk

Re: Debugger keybinding
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 10:46:12 pm »
Settings|Editor|Keyboard Shortcuts, and then select the Debug commands from the tree.

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2012, 11:03:26 pm »
cacb: unfortunately f10 is a reserved key in gtk, so it can't be used...
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline cacb

• Lives here!