Author Topic: CB perf  (Read 6855 times)

Offline grahamo

• Multiple posting newcomer
CB perf
« on: April 21, 2011, 08:42:32 am »
Hi,

I have to say I'm delighted with the setup... Codeblocks compiles our 30 .a's/.so's and links our exe perfectly. It runs perfectly under the debugger. Its compilation time is *five* times faster than the monolithic make system.

I've configured codeblocks to use dependencies and I've set the "Number of processes for parallel builds" to 8 (the number of CPU's on our linux server host where I compile). Our linux host is not loaded with other users.

Now I'm delighted with the setup and people are going to be delighted with the performance. However seeing as I'm a newbie I might as well ask...

Is there  any other way to speed up my build. I might naively expect codeblocks to compile 8 times faster than the monolithic make, seeing as its configured to run on 8 cpus versus the old monothreaded makefile approach.

Am I dreaming? Or is there another area I should look at to bleed another bit of performance out of CB.  FYI html logging is disabled and running from the compile line has been tested. It gives me a tiny perf improvement but I'm looking for tips from the pro's here: )

Again, nice job. Its been a while since I've used an IDE that runs as smoothly (and I've used just about all of them over the years! :)

Offline MortenMacFly

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: CB perf
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2011, 09:07:17 am »
Fastest way is to use batch build mode with all plugins (except compiler, of course) disabled. Leave the rest as you did.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline LarsPensjo

• Single posting newcomer
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2012, 01:16:47 pm »