Author Topic: [SOLVED ]how to insert gprof in codeblocks  (Read 8164 times)

Offline serge17

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
[SOLVED ]how to insert gprof in codeblocks
« on: April 22, 2012, 12:42:09 am »
Hello

I use Windows 7 and I recently installed codebloks-10.05mingw. I Compiled a small program with the-pg option and I got the file gmon.out . My problem is to read it with gprof. If gprof is not in the package,  how can I insert it in CodeBlocks  ?

Thanks by advance
« Last Edit: April 23, 2012, 06:18:35 pm by serge17 »

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: how to insert gprof in codeblocks
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2012, 07:17:20 pm »
Based on your setup, I would guess that gprof already exists in a path similar to C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin.  You could test by running Plugins->Code profiler while your project is open.

Offline serge17

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: how to insert gprof in codeblocks
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2012, 11:17:17 pm »
Hello Alpha

I found gprof.exe in C\...  : so it is in the package. But I donít know what to do with.
I donít understand what you mean by  "running Plugins->Code profiler"
In the menu, I see  Plugins  but when opened I see
    Source code formatter
   Windows XP Lookín Fell
   -------------------------------
   Manage plugins


I tried Manage plugins -> Install new but it looks for file *.cbplugin

Regards   
« Last Edit: April 22, 2012, 11:20:40 pm by serge17 »

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12207
    • Travis build status
Re: how to insert gprof in codeblocks
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2012, 11:33:43 pm »
You have to install the contrib plugins, probably, their are not installed by default.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline serge17

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: how to insert gprof in codeblocks
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2012, 02:39:41 pm »
Hello

Great ! Now, I understand  "running Plugins->Code profiler".
I found  Code profiler  in the  contrib plugins  but this leads to a new question :
Where to download it ? Do you know a trusted address ?  I looked for for a while !

Regards

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7253
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: how to insert gprof in codeblocks
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2012, 02:44:16 pm »
To install the plugin, just rerun C::B's installer and make sure it is selected to be installed.

Offline serge17

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: how to insert gprof in codeblocks
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2012, 06:15:54 pm »
Hello

I did it : itís works !   (I think, itís the words you wish to heard )

Thanks a lot for the time you give to the community.

Regards.

PS : Itís not very long but itís an odd way to do.
By chance,  I havenít to rebuild my home every time I hang a painting on my wall !
« Last Edit: April 24, 2012, 10:07:24 pm by serge17 »

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6769
    • My Best Post
Re: how to insert gprof in codeblocks
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2012, 07:29:12 pm »
Hello

I did it : itís works !   (I think, itís the words you whish to heard )

Thanks a lot for the time you give to the community.

Regards.

PS : Itís not very long but itís an odd way to do.
By chance,  I havenít to rebuild my home every time I hang a painting on my wall !


When you construct your home without a den you might need to add it on later.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org