Author Topic: Crash when reloading files modified by another application  (Read 4322 times)

Offline Freem

• Almost regular
Crash when reloading files modified by another application
« on: April 14, 2012, 04:34:52 pm »
To be honest, I do not know what happens.
I It seem changing files opened by C::B with another application (git, in my situation) make C::B crash. It did not happened before...

I am not even sure to be able to reproduce steps, because it might be because I used a wrong command with git. I am a pure newbie with this vcs... I am not really sure of why I am trying to use it for my project in fact. SVN is far simpler. Bref.

Joined to this post is a tar containing files generated by C::B (I had 2 crashes, but a file lacks, for an unknown reason). If I make this crash happens again, I will try to find a way to reproduce it. If more information is needed, I am at your service.

Offline Jenna

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: Crash when reloading files modified by another application
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2012, 08:12:17 pm »
I use git with C::B and have no such issues (debian 64-bit, neither with wx2.8 compile dC::B, nor with wx2.9.4 compiled C::B).

Offline MortenMacFly

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2012, 08:30:53 pm »
I use git with C::B and have no such issues (debian 64-bit, neither with wx2.8 compile dC::B, nor with wx2.9.4 compiled C::B).
Concerning the crash log it looks like the project file(s) (maybe several in a WS) were modified and C::B asked to reload the project and the user hit "yes". Well what I never tried is what happens, if you change i.e. all project files in a workspace at once which would trigger a lot of these events. This might indeed not be very safe. However - this is also something you should not do when you've opened the workspace. It's like changing all the rules you reference to at once... ::)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"