Author Topic: Start up recommendation  (Read 2950 times)

Offline dan_kolis

• Single posting newcomer
Start up recommendation
« on: April 09, 2012, 10:48:25 pm »
Hello!

I just signed up for this thing.

If 1 or more respondents ( maybe you) return a paragraph or two on this I would be pretty helpful.

I am new to linux but have written a sizable g++ program entirely in linux with no requirement to port it to anything else. My debian says:
  Linux cipher 2.6.32-5-686 #1 SMP Thu Nov 3 04:23:54 UTC 2011 i686 GNU/Linux

IThe program is just inflitrated with debugging stuff, anf further progress implies a IDE badly. I am a old guy though, and I know this broken glass to get this far: is required. So, ok I thought "Eclipse" but I think codeblocks is probably more to the point.

There is no Qx) Questions, this is just more like tell me if I'm right or wrong, plus or minus some realities. So I thing this is reasonable.

*) add the few 'where to look' lines and use apt-get to get the non debug version of the ide. for 32 bit linux. I'm pretty sure my wx widgets is intact, if not i will figure that out.

*) Make a teeny test program using few libraries.

*) Make a less teeny program using open GL libraries.

*) My compile lines throws in the kitchen sink, so what! I will clean it p as I need to. As the only guy writing the program, now clarity to others is not too important.
  g++ -w -Wall -o epg textOut.cpp jumpInMan.cpp timeKeeper.cpp testOnly.cpp visualFx.cpp redisplayers.cpp outsideWorld.cpp x11ogl.cpp scrapPaper.cpp helpers.cpp pngHelper.cpp parser.cpp main.cpp -lplibpu -lplibpuaux -lplibfnt -lplibul -lX11 -lXmu -lGL -lglut -lplibpw -lpng -lm -lplibsg -lGLU -lGL -lSM -lICE -lXi -lXext -lm -ldl -lpthread

*) Sort of phase in using Code Blocks as I go, maybe assuming 1/hr a day with it until I get it.

The app uses Open GL and many packages, its medium big, pretty bland g++.

Any suggestions?