Code::Blocks
November 23, 2014, 10:32:48 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: When registered with our forums, feel free to send a "here I am" post in http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,14168.0.html to differ human beings from SPAM bots.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  :: WebsiteWiki  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: [MinGW] Debugger not pausing at breakpoints  (Read 3886 times)
Abi79
Newcomer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« on: March 28, 2012, 07:32:55 am »

Hello. When trying to debug a C++ project (build target set to debug, compiler flag -g set, toolchain executables for MinGW set correctly, OS Windows 7 32 bits), the debugger will not stop at any breakpoints. The debugger only stops when it catches a signal like SIGSEGV or when input is required from the keyboard. "Run to cursor", "Start [F8]" and "Step into" all have the same behaviour.

Tried both CodeBlocks 10.05, and nightly 7789.

I tried searching, but I couldn't find something similar on the forums. Would appreciate any help to get it to work. Thanks Smiley
Logged
oBFusCATed
Developer
Lives here!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7732


« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2012, 08:02:48 am »

Read this: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Debugging_with_Code::Blocks

Try a debugger's branch nightly.
Try a console debugging session.
If all doesn't work post the full log of the debugger.
Logged

<debugger plugin maintainer>
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
ollydbg
Developer
Lives here!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4153


Interests on OpenCV and Robotics


WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2012, 08:10:52 am »

What's the exact steps we can reproduce your bug? Code, complier, gdb. We need all those information.
Logged

If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.
Abi79
Newcomer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2012, 02:12:36 pm »

Follow up to this, a regression in GDB 7.4 was the reason, because I had spaces in my file path.
http://sourceware.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=13798
Logged
ollydbg
Developer
Lives here!
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4153


Interests on OpenCV and Robotics


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2012, 02:24:57 pm »

Follow up to this, a regression in GDB 7.4 was the reason, because I had spaces in my file path.
http://sourceware.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=13798
OK, so it is a gdb bug.
You can check out/clone that gdb line spec re-write branch, and build a gdb yourself. I have some experience some days ago under MSYS+mingw, we also have some discussion in our c::b forum about how to specify a breakpoint command.

See:
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,16116.0.html
Logged

If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Send this topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!