Author Topic: invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch  (Read 7998 times)

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch
« on: March 26, 2012, 02:38:55 am »
WinXP
I try to debug c::b(debugger branch) under c::b, but when the debugee c::b started, it shows "invalid debugger" in the compiler setting dialog, also I can't see some options in the debugger setting dialog.So I can't use gdb under the debugee c::b.

It works OK when I debug c::b(normal trunk).

Maybe, OBF can give some help, thanks.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2012, 03:32:25 am by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2012, 06:32:17 am »
Obf cannot compute what is the problem. You'll have to try to explain it better.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2012, 06:35:08 am »
You have to setup a debugger in the "Settings -> Debugger" menu and then chose it from the drop-down list in "Settings -> Compiler -> [your compiler] -> Toolchain executables" .

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2012, 07:54:54 am »
Thanks all. When I have such problem, I even don't have an option to select this in debugee c::b debugger branch, see screen shots below:




Oh, I found the reason:

when I debug the c::b trunk, I use some options like "-p=debugCC" to specify a personal configuration , but this configuration file is for c::b trunk only, when I switch to debug c::b debugger branch, I should use another configuration, otherwise, the configuration file used for trunk can NOT be used in debugger branch, otherwise it will cause such issue.

If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2012, 09:34:44 am »
It seems that you have not debugger plugin loaded.
This is the reason you get empty list of configurations.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2012, 09:36:58 am »
It seems that you have not debugger plugin loaded.
This is the reason you get empty list of configurations.
Yes, I agree, as I said, the configure file can not be shared between c::b trunk version and debugger branch. The wrong configure file will cause the failure of loading the debugger plugin. :)
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2012, 09:49:04 am »
If you've explicitly disabled the debuggergdb plugin yes, but otherwise there is no problem in using the same config file with both versions.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2012, 10:12:36 am »
If you've explicitly disabled the debuggergdb plugin yes, but otherwise there is no problem in using the same config file with both versions.
Many thanks to OBF.

I realize that debuggergdb plugin was disabled in my "debugCC" config file(I even did not remember when I disable it). I enabled it and I can confirm that this config file can be shared by debugger branch and trunk version of c::b.

I'm sorry for the noise.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: invalid debugger happend when I debug c::b debugger branch
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2012, 10:37:48 am »
Don't worry to much.
In fact this is a usability problem and I've added a todo item to print a working, so it is a big easier to diagnose what is going on.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]