Author Topic: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks  (Read 50495 times)

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2013, 02:35:37 pm »
Also, a log change does not require an explicit commit - its done directly.
And it my opinion this is the reason this feature should be disabled. A person can destroy the history and we won't know about it. Good luck in restoring it back.

I second oBFusCATed. This feature should not be enabled on our repo.
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9594
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2013, 04:02:19 pm »
A person can destroy the history and we won't know about it.
Nope - how would you want to do that?

Well we should trust each other at least that much that we don't select >8000 commits and change their commit log. Its only possible for one entry at a time and is an atomic operation. So it cannot interfere with any other operation.

So: Do you think we need to disabled it because one of us well be that bad to change all our logs one-by-one? If so, we can close commits all-together, cause you could also just commit bad stuff.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12595
    • Travis build status
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2013, 04:54:34 pm »
If so, we can close commits all-together, cause you could also just commit bad stuff.
Yes, but we can revert them, because we have the old state or the repo. With this option there is not way to revert the change.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9594
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #18 on: April 18, 2013, 10:15:05 am »
With this option there is not way to revert the change.
Well you still have a backup.

But again: Why would you want to do that? Its enabled that you can change your own commit messages if you made a mistake and maybe before a release to auto-process changelogs more easily. Thats convenient enough I'd say. And I already changed some of my mistakes in the SVN log which made me happy. You want to see me happy, don't you?! :-)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5234
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #19 on: April 18, 2013, 10:25:29 am »
With this option there is not way to revert the change.
Well you still have a backup.
Where is the backup? A GIT mirror?
Quote
But again: Why would you want to do that? Its enabled that you can change your own commit messages if you made a mistake and maybe before a release to auto-process changelogs more easily. Thats convenient enough I'd say. And I already changed some of my mistakes in the SVN log which made me happy. You want to see me happy, don't you?! :-)
Good to see that One can only change his own committed message. :)

BTW: I tried many times, many options (include disable cashing) under TortoiseSVN, but all failed, so I'm going to try SVN command line. :(
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9594
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #20 on: April 18, 2013, 02:37:22 pm »
Where is the backup? A GIT mirror?
A SVN dump made all night directly as SF.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5234
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #21 on: April 18, 2013, 03:48:58 pm »
SVN command line show that the log message are already changed:
Quote
E:\code\cb\cb_trunk_sf>which svn
D:\Program Files\TortoiseSVN\bin\svn.EXE

E:\code\cb\cb_trunk_sf>svn log -r 8855
------------------------------------------------------------------------
r8855 | ollydbg | 2013-02-25 13:00:49 +0800 (星期一, 25 二月 2013) | 1 line

* exchndl: link libz instread of libintl, thus implement the Feature Request #55
17. Add checking winnt.h macros for both MinGW and MinGW-W64. Workaround a #erro
r in bfd.h.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

E:\code\cb\cb_trunk_sf>


But I still see http://sourceforge.net/p/codeblocks/code/8855/ shows:
Quote
exchndl: link libz instread of libiberty, thus implement the Feature Request #5517. Check winnt.h for both MinGW and MinGW-W64. Workaround a #error in bfd.h.

So, any one can help me?
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7253
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #22 on: April 19, 2013, 09:53:22 am »
It looks like sourceforge caches (at least) the history-entries and do not update them if they get changed.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5234
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #23 on: April 19, 2013, 10:36:10 am »
I post a Ticket in SF, see: https://sourceforge.net/p/forge/site-support/3691/
Hope they can fix it.

EDIT: It looks like SF guys will look into it soon, see the IRC messages.
Quote
   ollydbg   Anyone encountered a problem that I change the SVN log message for one revision, but the SF repo does not update this message, thanks.
   wjp   can you be more specific?
   ollydbg   Hi, wjp, thanks.
   ollydbg   I'm a developer of Codeblocks.
   ollydbg   Then, I found that one commit of mine has some typos, so I try to change the log message under TortoiseSVN. Just click on one revision's log message, then select the change log message menu.
   ollydbg   So, I can successfully change the log message. Yes, we have already enabled the svn-hook in SF site, so this let our Codeblocks change log message.
   ollydbg   But when I look at the SF svn web page, it still show the old log message, so I suspect it was some bug on SF. (AS we have discussed this issue for two days, other Codeblocks also suspect it was a bug of SF), does any one encountered the same issue like me? Thanks.
   -->|   mlohr ([email protected]) has joined #sourceforge
   ollydbg   You can read my post in this post from Codeblocks forum: http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,16096.msg121965.html#msg121965, here you see different message from my local svn log command and the SF svn web page.
   ollydbg   I have also create a Ticket in SF minutes ago, see: https://sourceforge.net/p/forge/site-support/3691/
   ollydbg   Thanks.
   wjp   if you had the pre-revprop hook already, that does sound like a probable SF issue. It's still outside of ,,businesshours , but someone from SF should be in soon
   gribble   Sourceforge.net business hours are approximately 12:00 to 21:00 UTC, excluding weekends and holidays. Currently, it is Fri Apr 19 08:45:17 2013 UTC.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2013, 10:50:41 am by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9594
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #24 on: April 20, 2013, 09:15:09 am »
It looks like sourceforge caches (at least) the history-entries and do not update them if they get changed.
I am not so sure about that - for me it worked instantaneously. I would believe its more a bug with TortoiseSVN... or feature.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7253
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2013, 09:21:27 am »
It looks like sourceforge caches (at least) the history-entries and do not update them if they get changed.
I am not so sure about that - for me it worked instantaneously. I would believe its more a bug with TortoiseSVN... or feature.
No, surely not, becuase in svn it's changed (as svn-log shows), but sf's websvn does not sgow the changes.
In other word the webserver shows another comment than the real svn-client.
That is surely a bug in sf's software.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 6894
    • My Best Post
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #26 on: April 20, 2013, 09:36:48 am »
From http://sourceforge.net/p/codeblocks/code/8855/

Quote
exchndl: link libz instread of libintl, thus implement the Feature Request #5517. Add checking winnt.h macros for both MinGW and MinGW-W64. Workaround a #error in bfd.h.

Are you sure its NOT a local PC browser save issue?
Or maybe it just takes a while to be fixed to make to Web Server? (Web server updates the log on a hourly or daily basis type issue.)
Or did the fix it just a few minutes ago?

Tim S.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2013, 09:38:43 am by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 32 bit.
On Debian Stretch, compiling CB Trunk against wxWidgets 3.0.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7253
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #27 on: April 20, 2013, 09:43:12 am »
It's there now, but was not yesterday, with empty browser cache.

Such webservices can use local caches, but such a cache might not always work correctly

Looking at the ticket opened by ollydbg, it seems it was fixed by sf-maintainers.

Offline Alpha

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1513
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #28 on: July 03, 2013, 03:35:20 pm »
Biplab, is it possible to make the age column in your mirror look more like it does on berliOS?

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: Read-only Git, SVN Repo for Code::Blocks
« Reply #29 on: July 03, 2013, 04:08:40 pm »
Biplab, is it possible to make the age column in your mirror look more like it does on berliOS?

Done. :)
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.