Author Topic: code blocks having trouble with fmob and irrklang  (Read 6538 times)

Offline veeman28

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
code blocks having trouble with fmob and irrklang
« on: February 22, 2012, 08:14:50 pm »
hi  :)  im new with code blocks so hope im in the rite place for this

i downloaded code blocks about a week ago so i could learn c++
got SFML working on it and had a play around with that so i thought
i would have a go at playing with mp3's so i got irrklang but couldn't
get it working so i tried FMOD but couldent get that working either  :(

I get errors like:-
Quote
E:\c++ proj\sound1\main.cpp|53|undefined reference to `FMOD::System::getVersion(unsigned int*)@8'|

been tryin to figure out what i'm doing wrong for 3 days now but my head
has started hurting!!!! can anyone help???

thanks :)

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: code blocks having trouble with fmob and irrklang
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2012, 08:39:57 pm »
Quote
E:\c++ proj\sound1\main.cpp|53|undefined reference to `FMOD::System::getVersion(unsigned int*)@8'|
So why don't you ask the FMOD people? This is a Code::Blocks forum.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline veeman28

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: code blocks having trouble with fmob and irrklang
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2012, 08:45:55 pm »
ahh ok i'll try that thanks :)

Offline veeman28

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: code blocks having trouble with fmob and irrklang
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2012, 11:21:09 pm »
not having much luck with FMOD forum so if anyone can help
here it will be much appreciated

gonna get some kip so i'll check my posts tomoz

cheerz 

Online stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7590
    • My Best Post
Re: code blocks having trouble with fmob and irrklang
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2012, 11:40:45 pm »
Learn to post the compiler name and version when you ask for help in a forum thread.

Turn on Full Compiler Logging
http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ-Compiling_%28errors%29#Q:_How_do_I_troubleshoot_a_compiler_problem.3F

Read how to ask a smart question is a good thing to do and also understand.
http://catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html#forum

FYI: I never heard of this library before today; but, just looking at a few links implies you NEED to use C instead of C++ to link the library correctly with the MinGW GCC compiler.
I suggest using the C example code.
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8309342/compiling-fmod-using-gcc-on-windows

Once you get that to work; find a programming site to teach you how to mix C and C++ code.
WARNING: This NOT a site that supports programming questions on how to mix C and C++ code.

Tim S.



« Last Edit: February 22, 2012, 11:47:55 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline p2rkw

  • Almost regular
  • **
  • Posts: 142
Re: code blocks having trouble with fmob and irrklang
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2012, 11:47:18 pm »
Did u add these libraries to linker settings? ( project->properties->build options->linker ). Check out wiki for an examples for other 3-rd party libs.

Offline veeman28

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: code blocks having trouble with fmob and irrklang
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2012, 11:38:55 pm »
thanks p2rkw :) it was the linker settings ((found it in)settings->compiler & debugger->linker settings)

@stahta01 - thanks for the links and advice i'll try n keep it in mind

cheers guys :)

p.s sorry i took so long to reply had some rl stuff to sort

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: code blocks having trouble with fmob and irrklang
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2012, 12:10:21 am »
thanks p2rkw :) it was the linker settings ((found it in)settings->compiler & debugger->linker settings)

@stahta01 - thanks for the links and advice i'll try n keep it in mind

cheers guys :)

p.s sorry i took so long to reply had some rl stuff to sort

Be aware, taht all settings you make their are used for all projects that use the compiler.
This will most likely lead to problems sooner or later, and it will break compilage on other computers, that do not have the same global settings.

In most cases it's better to make the settings for your project only in "Project -> Build options -> [your project or a special target] -> Linker settings" .