Author Topic: Code::Blocks could not start in ubuntu 10.04  (Read 4927 times)

Offline TigerMaz

• Single posting newcomer
Code::Blocks could not start in ubuntu 10.04
« on: December 05, 2011, 03:26:09 pm »
Hello guys i am new in Ubuntu also in CodeBlocks. To make GUI programming i choose wxWidgets and CodeBlocks(wxSmith). And downloads the wxGTK-2.8.12 from it's website. Then follow this link http://wiki.wxwidgets.org/Compiling_and_getting_started. Execute all command up to Building apps with wxWidgets . Then i have downloaded CodeBlocks from http://sourceforge.net/projects/codeblocks/files/Binaries/10.05/Linux%20%2832%20bit%29/codeblocks-10.05-1-debian-i386.tar.bz2 here. Unzip it and issue this command "sudo dpkg -i *.deb" to install it. Then i got this error->
"codeblocks: error while loading shared  libraries: libwx_gtk2u_richtext-2.8.so.0:cannot open shared object file:no such file or directory".

How to solve it. Please guide me.

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: Code::Blocks could not start in ubuntu 10.04
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2011, 03:28:34 pm »
Revert all the steps you've made and then just execute: "sudo apt-get install codeblocks".
If it doesn't work read the info here http://apt.jenslody.de/

BTW: why are you using 32bit linux?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline TigerMaz

« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2011, 03:36:25 pm »
Revert all the steps you've made and then just execute: "sudo apt-get install codeblocks".
If it doesn't work read the info here http://apt.jenslody.de/

BTW: why are you using 32bit linux?

If i used a repo then how can i configured or used this option of wxWidgets "./configure --disable-shared". Because i don't want that my program would run with shared libraries help. Though this process make my program big size but i want in that way.