Author Topic: View variables in arrays and variables in other classes?  (Read 4763 times)

ChiggenWingz

View variables in arrays and variables in other classes?
« on: July 09, 2011, 10:37:14 am »
G'day everyone!

I'm trying to find a way that I can view data that is stored in arrays.

I don't come from a strong programming background, have basically self taught myself and done a games course that taught us a bit of C# using MS Visual C# Express.  I was able to see the values of various arrays in Vis C# and if I programmed my game right, I could navigate through all the classes and see any variable at any point in my program.

After reading around for the past few days and talking to other programmers at work (I work in Quality Assurance), it seems I need to do some sort of memory dump and then I should be able to read the values off that?  Not super sure how to do that, nor am I looking forward to sifting through piles of hex code :(

How do I find the values of my arrays at various points in my program should I use a break point?

-------------

Side note, how do I stop code blocks from jumping over functions that have divide by zero errors when I'm running it in debug mode?  I've spent ages trying to track down issues only to have code blocks jump over sections of my code because there was a divide by zero error and it didn't let me know :(
« Last Edit: July 09, 2011, 01:29:37 pm by ChiggenWingz »

Offline Freem

• Almost regular
Re: View variables in arrays and variables in other classes?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2011, 09:55:47 am »
For the first question, something that might greatly help us should be to give us what version of C::B you are using. Is it the last official, the nightly or the nightly debugguer branch?

Anyway, you can see them by adding a watch.
But the interface is not the same on all versions so I can't say more.