Author Topic: Precompiled Header Hell  (Read 19971 times)

sviten

Precompiled Header Hell
« on: December 01, 2005, 10:24:39 pm »
Hi guys,

I'm new to C::B.  I was trying to import my code over (from Dev-cpp but I just imported the source files).  I seem to have a problem where g++ refuses to use my header files unless they are precompiled and if I allow it to precompile them, then I get a "protocol.h.gch: file not recognized: File format not recognized" error after it compiles it.

Is there a way to turn off using precompiled headers?  I can't find it either in the Project, Compiler settings or this forum.

I'm not very interested in using PCH since I'm still changing my headers a lot.

Thanks much for your time.

Offline Urxae

• Regular
Re: Precompiled Header Hell
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2005, 10:44:36 pm »
How exactly does it 'refuse' to use your header files? Does it seem to be using an old version? Does it give an error message?

One thing that might cause this: you have to remember to delete previously generated .gch files when switching the corresponding precompiled headers off, or GCC will keep using the .gch it finds.
Oh, and did you happen to upgrade GCC recently? "File format not recognized" sounds like the .gch was not generated by the current version of GCC (a .gch is basically a dump of the internal memory state of GCC, which can differ with each version).

sviten

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2005, 12:24:48 am »
How exactly does it 'refuse' to use your header files? Does it seem to be using an old version? Does it give an error message?

Sorry, guess I forgot to include that
If I go into the Properties setting for each header file in my project and uncheck "Compile" (this is the only way I would guess to tell g++ not to use precompiled headers), then g++ returns the error, "mingw32-g++.exe: protocol.h.gch: No such file or directory". How would I know if I was using an old version?  I just downloaded it today.