Author Topic: code completion does not get focus  (Read 30169 times)

Offline Jorg

• Multiple posting newcomer
Re: code completion does not get focus
« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2005, 09:05:24 am »
I have been pointed to this thread from my original one. This is my config:

KDE3.4 (I think)
Suse 10
CodeBlocks from SUSE10, CVS build rpm

Just to think along (as I am a wxWidgets developer too) what window do you use ? Is it a normal window? I assume you are using wxSTC or wxScintilla for your source display, right ? Maybe it helps if that has a method to display the code completion list. Also making the window show modal (if that is desired I do not know) might solve your problem as it will not switch focus to the disabled parent.

- Jorgen

Offline Jorg

« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2005, 08:52:25 am »
Ok I think I found a way around it. Sorry to dissapoint all KDE guys, but Gnome seems to behave MUCH better with Code::Blocks in many ways.. The search dialog for example also did not show the focus on the text ctrl which is also nice if one would like to quickly find something. In Gnome the focus is properly set to the code completion box, and the search box. Also the code completion box could be properly resized and moved without problems.

It is definately a window manager issue. I have abandoned KDE for now, as I am more into minimalism anyway, and Gnome works faster.

Besides this minor inconsistency between Windowmanagers (which I truely believe cannot be Code::Blocks fault) I am very-very pleased with this IDE. It works great in debugging, building and coding .. :-) Keep up the good work guys!

- Jorgen

Offline Der Meister

• Regular
« Reply #17 on: November 25, 2005, 06:05:45 pm »
Good news: It seems as I have found a solution for this problem - it at least works on enlightenment e16 now.