Author Topic: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)  (Read 38220 times)

Offline Loaden

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1014
A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« on: April 11, 2011, 11:58:15 am »
Hi, All, I am created a git repository for Code::Blocks.
Until now It's only include trunk, from rev1~rev7094 :
https://www.gitorious.org/codeblocks/

Step 1:
git clone git://gitorious.org/codeblocks/codeblocks.git CodeBlocks

Step 2:
git config svn-remote.svn.url http://svn.berlios.de/svnroot/repos/codeblocks
git config svn-remote.svn.fetch trunk:refs/remotes/trunk
You can change the url as you want. ^_^

Step 3:
Unzip the svn.7z, and put it on CodeBlocks/.git directory.
http://portablecb.googlecode.com/files/svn.7z

Step 4:
git svn fetch
git svn rebase

Enjoy!

If somebody has better way, please let's me know, thanks!!
« Last Edit: April 11, 2011, 12:02:03 pm by Loaden »

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2011, 12:56:01 pm »
what's the purpose ?

Offline Loaden

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1014

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2011, 02:41:28 pm »
Does it work OK/reliably on windows?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2011, 02:56:13 pm »
what's the purpose ?
http://www.whygitisbetterthanx.com/

well we can also come up with reasons why it is not better ;-)

Main thing to think about : what is currently blocking us with svn, and as such needs to be solved asap.

Offline Loaden

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1014
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2011, 03:08:18 pm »

Offline Loaden

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1014
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2011, 03:14:21 pm »
Main thing to think about : what is currently blocking us with svn, and as such needs to be solved asap.
SVN for CB works well until now.
I created this repository, just because I like Git.
Especially:
1. Cheap Local Branching
2. Everything is Local
« Last Edit: April 11, 2011, 03:15:53 pm by Loaden »

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2011, 03:17:57 pm »
Does it work OK/reliably on windows?
Yes, It's works well.
http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/

From what I remember a year ago the GUI tools were really awful and ugly (old tcl/tk stuff look and feel from in the early 90's) [and they were not stable].

Personally I really missed the version tree. The spaghetti tree of git is just too confusing to me. Nothing like a real nice version tree per file. But maybe this exists in the meantime ?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2011, 03:36:35 pm »
Git is made to be used from the console and it is way better then svn+console.

I've tried git-svn when I started work on the debugger's branch and it was good until the point where I've to generate the patches.
I should try it again to see if committing works :)

What is version tree?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2011, 03:48:04 pm »
a version tree, is a graphical tree *per element (file/directory)* that shows you the revisions in a tree model. You can click on the node for comparison, to see the chane commit messages.
basically a nice graphical overview on what has happened to a certain file. branching is also visible in the tree (a tree has native support for branches ;-) ), and so on

Offline Loaden

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 1014
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2011, 03:57:48 pm »
I've tried git-svn when I started work on the debugger's branch and it was good until the point where I've to generate the patches.
You can use gitk to make a patch. In first, you need commit in a branch.


Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2011, 04:11:43 pm »
I can make patches with the cmd line tools and I've done so.
The problem was that the generated patch was broken (not applicable), because of the $rev/$author variables used in C::B sources.


p.s. This are pretty useless by the way (probably only for the SDK headers), svn blame is way better...
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2011, 02:13:04 pm »
Does it work OK/reliably on windows?
Yes, It's works well.
http://code.google.com/p/msysgit/

From what I remember a year ago the GUI tools were really awful and ugly (old tcl/tk stuff look and feel from in the early 90's) [and they were not stable].

You can use TortoiseGIT+msys-git combination. They are as good as TortoiseSVN.
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.

Offline killerbot

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5491
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2011, 02:37:18 pm »
is there also something similar like kdesvn ?

Offline Biplab

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1874
    • Biplab's Blog
Re: A Git Repository for Code::Blocks (ONLY trunk)
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2011, 05:39:32 pm »
is there also something similar like kdesvn ?

Not sure which feature you are looking for. :)
Be a part of the solution, not a part of the problem.