Author Topic: CB crashed on ThreadSearch  (Read 10975 times)

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 77
    • Fun electronic
CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« on: April 04, 2011, 11:16:51 am »
Hello All!

I did try two revisions 6906 and 7074, both for a long time.

And both of them crashed some times (not always), when I click the Items in Pop Up menu (right mouse click):

"Find declaration of:"
"Find implementation of:"
"Find occurrences of:"

or when I start the search in a ThreadSearch Tab. The exception is an error on read memory. When I get that again, I'll post more detailed description of the error here.

The problem is that is occurs not often, but after about 10-15 such searches, and may not occur at all through the whole day.

I am using WinXP Pro with SP3.

Is this issue already known?
Is there a solution to resolve it?

Thanks in advance,

Alexey

Code::Blocks is still the best :)

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12006
    • Travis build status
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2011, 11:32:57 am »
"Find declaration of:"
"Find implementation of:"
This is part of the Code completion, not the ThreadSearch.

For me ThreadSearch is quite stable, no problems with it so far.
There were some random crashes because of the CC.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 77
    • Fun electronic
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2011, 11:41:03 am »
"Find declaration of:"
"Find implementation of:"
This is part of the Code completion, not the ThreadSearch.

Yes, I know it, and this is some strange here for me, because it crashes on any of this searches.
My assumption here is that there is some thing with a multi threading.

Another assumption is that there are too many files in a project.
At Work I have one project in a workspace with about 1700 files.
But at home I have a more that 7 projects in my workspace, and every project in it has about 100 files.

There were some random crashes because of the CC.
I do not use CC at all.

Well, first post I did made right after the last crush, and it still runs :)

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12006
    • Travis build status
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2011, 12:13:02 pm »
Do you see a crash report dialog?
If you do please save the crash report file and paste it here.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5226
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2011, 02:15:33 pm »
I do not use CC at all.
you disable CC? if that, the context menu should not have the menu item: find declaration ... and find implementation.

If the crash happened. you can open the file: codeblocks.RPT, and paste the log here.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 77
    • Fun electronic
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2011, 02:19:49 pm »
I do not use CC at all.
you disable CC? if that, the context menu should not have the menu item: find declaration ... and find implementation.

If the crash happened. you can open the file: codeblocks.RPT, and paste the log here.

Sorry for misunderstanding, I did mix CC with CScope. It seems that I use CC :)

So, here is RPT file from todays crash.

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 77
    • Fun electronic
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2011, 02:56:28 pm »
Here is another one crash report from right now ;)
The error message was - the code at 0x7c928c0b cann't read from 0x000019bc

Hope, that this helps you.
Updt: Crash was produced on the click on Menu Item "Find occurrences of:"
« Last Edit: April 04, 2011, 02:58:02 pm by MasterAlexei »

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5226
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2011, 03:04:38 pm »
It seems the crash is caused in ThreadSearch plugin.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9496
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2011, 03:58:57 pm »
It seems the crash is caused in ThreadSearch plugin.
Well, probably not only.

I am using both of these plugins and function a lot, hence no issues at all. :shock:

I think what you could do that would help us most is compiling C::B yourself and leaving the debug information in the executables. Thus use the version created in the "devel" sub-folder after calling the "update.bat" file, not the stripped one in the "output" folder.

This will result in crash logs pointing to the actual function, not only the method. With the logs you have attached we can hardly do anything other than guessing as we don't have the "reference" binaries.

Would that be an option for you?
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5226
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2011, 04:18:37 pm »
I think what you could do that would help us most is compiling C::B yourself and leaving the debug information in the executables. Thus use the version created in the "devel" sub-folder after calling the "update.bat" file, not the stripped one in the "output" folder.
I think the OP do not need to run the update.bat. he can just run the codeblocks.exe under devel folder.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2011, 03:18:52 am by ollydbg »
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 77
    • Fun electronic
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2011, 05:02:07 pm »
I think what you could do that would help us most is compiling C::B yourself and leaving the debug information in the executables. Thus use the version created in the "devel" sub-folder before calling the "update.bat" file, not the stripped one in the "output" folder.
I think the OP do not need to run the update.bat. he can just run the codeblocks.exe under devel folder.
I'll do it, but only tomorrow, now my home waiting for me :)

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7265
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2011, 06:21:07 pm »
I think what you could do that would help us most is compiling C::B yourself and leaving the debug information in the executables. Thus use the version created in the "devel" sub-folder before calling the "update.bat" file, not the stripped one in the "output" folder.
I think the OP do not need to run the update.bat. he can just run the codeblocks.exe under devel folder.
No he can't do that, because of missing resource-files (and others ?), that were copied by update.bat .

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9496
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2011, 08:01:53 pm »
No he can't do that, because of missing resource-files (and others ?), that were copied by update.bat .
Jens is right. Just do what I've said an run update.bat after compilation. Otherwise C::B will crash due to other reasons (missing resources). But that's "normal", because C::B is incomplete.

BTW: @ollydbg: If you quote, please do not change the content of what you've quoted.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: http://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5226
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2011, 03:18:13 am »
BTW: @ollydbg: If you quote, please do not change the content of what you've quoted.
I'm sorry, morten.
I forget update.bat will copy some resource file. :D
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline MasterAlexei

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 77
    • Fun electronic
Re: CB crashed on ThreadSearch
« Reply #14 on: April 05, 2011, 12:19:03 pm »
Hello!

I did compile the CB and plugins with -g option On (in Build options of the projects (I build them over CB)).

Then I did run update.bat, copied the "output" dir into my "start" dir of the CB, that I did copied the "devel" dir into my "start" dir of the CB with overwriting option on, so that I have now not stripped CB there with all recourses. I was for 3 hours. CB still running :)
If it crashes, I'll post the .RPT file here.

Alexei

Updt: 3 Hours - still working. It seems that not stripped version is stabler as stripped one.
Is there some thing, that in release version not freed or not initialized? Or is there some access to the strings, that only in Debug version exists?
« Last Edit: April 05, 2011, 03:00:56 pm by MasterAlexei »