Author Topic: Code::Blocks crashes  (Read 17911 times)

Offline srini2174

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Code::Blocks crashes
« on: March 12, 2011, 05:01:30 am »
Hi,
     I am using Code::Blocks Nightlies (SVN 7041) from jens repository.  Whenever I try to add a AUIToolbarItem to a AUIToolbar in WxSmith Code::Blocks crashes.  I am using Linux Mint 10 KDE.   Any help in resolving this would be appreciated.

Srinivasan.B

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2011, 09:47:34 am »
I just tested it, and it works fine here.
Can you tell step by step what you did to get the crash, or better provide a simple sample project where this occurs (of course saved before the crash).
And the crash-report if any would be interesting.
It shoud be in /tmp/codeblocks_dbgrpt_[pid]_[YYYYMMDDTHHMMSS]/codeblocks.xml, where pid is the pid of the C::B instance that crashes and the rest is the date and time of the crash.

Offline srini2174

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2011, 06:47:28 am »
Hi,
    The crash I see is completely random and I don't see much information in the debug report as well.  The scenarios I created is very simple as as follows.

1) Create a new project and select wxWidgets project
2) provided the following info in the wizard
    2.1) Select wxwidgets 2.8.x in the wizard
    2.2) AuiTest2 for the project name
    2.3) provided the user details
    2.4) Selected wxsmith as the preferred GUI Builder & Application type as Frame based
    2.5)  GNU GCC compiler with both Debug and release configuration
    2.6)  Used default wxwidgets configuration and selected the option to use precompiled header
Sometime it fails in this stage itself (i.e during the project creation)

3) I create a AUIManager
4) I created a AUIToolbar
5) I created AUIToolbar Item
6) I created an AUIToolbar Separator
7) I created another AUIToolbar Item and it crashed.

Most of the time I noticed that this happens after a separator has been added.  Without adding the separtor if I just create only the AUIToolbarItems then it is ok.   I definitely get the crash with the addition of just 2-3 Items.  I was never able to add anything more than 3 AUIToolbarItems.

I have added some debug reports.

Srinivasan.B
« Last Edit: March 13, 2011, 06:58:49 am by srini2174 »

Offline srini2174

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2011, 04:04:31 pm »
Hi,
    Any help on this topic please as I am unable to use the AUIManager.

Srinivasan.B

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2011, 06:59:37 pm »
Are you using any NON-ASCII values in the Wizard?
The wizard in the past did not accept NON-ASCII in user info screen.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline srini2174

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2011, 05:02:09 pm »
Hi,
    I do not use any Non-ASCII character in the project wizard.

Srinivasan.B

Offline srini2174

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2011, 04:57:18 pm »
Hi,
    Any help on this topic please.

Srinivasan.B

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2011, 09:50:56 pm »
    Any help on this topic please.
I really tried, but it works here just fine (see image attached).
It may (however) be a Linux issue, I am on Windows. Can any of the Linux guys try, please?

You could try to compile C:;B yourself and help us by debugging into it. Probably when you compile yourself the issue might in fact be gone.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2011, 05:06:23 pm »
I also get this crash now, but only with the nightlies, not with C::B compiled by C::B on my system.
I try with automake compiled C::b from trunk to see whether I find the cause.
It seems I only get it on systems with compiz enabled.
I just tested it on a machine with kde running (compositing disabled) and it does not crash, but on my normal working system with gnome3 it crashes (gnome-shell uses compiz by default).
There are problems with auimanager and composite-effects when dragging tabs (we force the use of special styles to avoid these problems). Maybe there are also similar issues when building the preview.
I will try to investigate deeper.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2011, 11:36:17 pm »
It's not directly compiz related.
It seems to happen because of an unitialised boolean value.
I just committed a fix, that works for me.

I currently build a new nightly, that should be available tomorrow.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2011, 08:36:29 am by jens »

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2011, 08:32:30 am »
I currently build a new nightly, that should be available tomorrow.
It's in my repo now (svn r7074).
Please give feedback whether the bug is fixed or not.

Offline srini2174

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2011, 04:57:14 pm »
Hi,
    I will try it today and post the results.

Srinivasan.B

Offline srini2174

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Code::Blocks crashes
« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2011, 05:47:44 pm »
Hi,
    I have tried it today and now I doesn't crash, though I haven't done extensive testing.  Thanks for your quick fix.

Srinivasan.B