Author Topic: Building a standalone exe  (Read 40414 times)

Offline robl

• Single posting newcomer
Building a standalone exe
« on: January 29, 2011, 01:02:54 pm »
Hi

I'm new to codeblocks, and trying to build a standalone .exe - It's a wxwidgets project.

I followed the instruction here (http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=WxWindowsQuickRef) to set up the wxwidgets projects - (I used the wxPack installation option which includes the static libraries and made sure I left the "Use __WXDEBUG__ and Debug wxWidgets lib" UNchecked when creating the project)

It all builds fine in codeblocks - i.e. build + run works fine but the executable in the bin/release folder doesn't run - it come up with an error: "The program can't start because wxmsw28u_gcc.dll is missing from your computer"

1) why is it needing a dll? I thought I was building a "realease" not a "dll release" - i.e. all dll should be compiled into the exe.  I can't see any obvious options for making sure it's a full release.  Where abouts are they?  (in VC++ express it's under the compilation options and change it from "multithreaded dll" to "multithreaded" - I can't see the equivalent in codeblocks)

2) the file does actually exist here: "c:\wxWidgets2.8\lib\gcc_dll\wxmsw28u_gcc.dll", I've set up the global "$(#wx)" variable to point to "c:\wxWidgets2.8" and directories "c:\Program Files\CodeBlocks\MinGW\bin\" and "c:\wxWidgets2.8" are in my "path" environment variables

Can anyone help me out please - I'm guessing it's very obvious but it's defeating me at the moment!

Cheers

Rob

p.s. Have just added c:\wxWidgets2.8\lib\gcc_dll\ to the path env. variable so now runs on this pc but will not run on other pc's not containing these libraries - how can I link the referenced libraries into the executable? - i.e. a NON-dll release
« Last Edit: January 29, 2011, 02:11:41 pm by robl »

vectis99

Re: Building a standalone exe
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2011, 02:26:31 pm »