Author Topic: CB setup for wxWidgets / windows  (Read 9015 times)

Offline robkai

• Single posting newcomer
CB setup for wxWidgets / windows
« on: November 16, 2010, 07:08:54 pm »
Hope this is the right place for this question.  First time posting a question -- I'd rather have figured this out myself.

I am new to codeblocks and C++ programming, but I have hit the wall trying to setup wxWidgets with codeblocks, and unable to figure this out with the documents I've studied.  Sorry for the long question, but I believe that the answer would make a nice wiki to help users understand how to set this up.

I'm running CB 10.05, and wxWidgets 2.9.1 on Win2000.  I can successfully compile wxWidgets three different ways, using parameters to indicate compiling monolithic, dll, debug, etc.:

1)  ../configure then make
     puts the libs and wx-config in the user defined folder; include is in $(#wx)/include

2)  ../configure then make then make install
     puts libs, include, wx-config in /usr/local/lib (for me, c:\dev\msys\local\lib)

3)  minGW32-make. 
     puts libs in $(#wx)/lib/gcc_dll, no wx-config, include is in $(#wx)/include

They all compile without problems.  But each of these methods results in the libs in different directories; some create a wx-config file and some do not (method 3). 

I then test my set up by trying to compile/link/run a wxSmith minimal project, and the minimal sample cpp file through CB.  I've tried setting up CB multiple ways with each compilation.  I get linker errors, such as:

D:\Projects32\Codeblocks\test\test12\test12App.cpp|17|undefined reference to `      _imp___Z7wxEntryP11HINSTANCE__S0_Pci'|

I've spent the last couple of weeks trying to figure out how to set the compiler and linker parameters with CB; none seem to work.