Author Topic: Browsing code with CodeBlocks  (Read 6228 times)

Offline alberto

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« on: October 28, 2010, 10:37:40 am »
Hi,

Am I correct in assuming that Browse Tracker is the only method of browing code?

I'm sorry to mention here but when using CodeWright there are back/forward buttons which takes you to your last cursor position whichever files they maybe in.

Is there any plugin similar available for CodeBlocks?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12201
    • Travis build status
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2010, 11:34:01 am »
There was another plugin, but I don't remember its name.
Also I've a simple plugin that does this, but it is not finished...
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline alberto

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2010, 12:19:50 pm »
Anybody know the name of the Plugin?

Plus...

@oBFusCATed - When will you be able to release your plugin??

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12201
    • Travis build status
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2010, 12:46:42 pm »
When it is ready  :lol:
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Pecan

  • Plugin developer
  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2186
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2010, 09:25:03 pm »
...
I'm sorry to mention here but when using CodeWright there are back/forward buttons which takes you to your last cursor position whichever files they maybe in.

For me, BrowseTracker does the same. Alt-arrow up/down switches between the last and next editors in the use stack.

Assigning Alt-arrow left/right to Menu/View/Jump/back/forward cycles between the previous/next cursor positions (within a half page) within a use stack.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5249
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2010, 03:38:50 pm »
There was another plugin, but I don't remember its name.
Also I've a simple plugin that does this, but it is not finished...

this one?
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,9886.msg68973.html#msg68973
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline alberto

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2010, 12:18:54 pm »
Ok, I downloaded and built codeblocks (I'm using svn6752), built wxwidgets and then Tracebar.

But... the Tracebar plugin refuses to work with my released svn build, it works ok if I run Codeblocks from the version I have built myself (ie the same svn6752).

I get the usual, possible SDK error on startup.

Anyone know whats wrong?

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5249
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2010, 01:08:22 pm »
@alberto
you need to download the source code of Tracebar and build it.
that should works.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline alberto

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2010, 01:10:10 pm »
Thats what I've already done. The plugin won't work with the released version of the SVN.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5249
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2010, 01:13:09 pm »
Thats what I've already done. The plugin won't work with the released version of the SVN.
You can PM the author of trackbar.
I have build trackbar plugin several months ago. I will check it if I had some time.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 12201
    • Travis build status
Re: Browsing code with CodeBlocks
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2010, 02:00:23 pm »
... released version of the SVN....
What do you mean here?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]