Author Topic: Beginner Question - re: "One or more plugins were not loaded. . . "  (Read 8626 times)

Offline peacenik

• Single posting newcomer
First of all, I am a newbie about C++ and I have tried to find info about this by searching this board and the bugs ( http://is.gd/dawkU ). If I missed where to look and the answer is obvious, please excuse my ignorance and point me in the right direction.
I've built the application from source and when I start it I get the message:
One or more plugins were not loaded.
This usually happens when a plugin is built for a different version of the Code::Blocks SDK. Check the application log for more info.
List of failed plugins:
libwxSmithAui.so  

I tried rebuilding with different options for location since I'm using a non-standard location for " --prefix=" in the build configuration, but ended up with even more plugins not loading.
When I look in the "lib" folder the plugin ".so" and ".la" are both present.

The application log entry says "libwxSmithAui.so: not loaded (missing symbols?)"

My question has three parts:
  • is there a way to load the plugin after startup?
  • when the message says "This usually happens when a plugin is built for a different version of the Code::Blocks SDK," does that mean that the plugin can (or should) be rebuilt?
  • Is this something that I can just work around; is the plugin necessary? (Remember I'm a total C++ newbie and I'm just starting to set up).
Details of build/system:
source used: Code::Blocks 10.05 (codeblocks-10.05-src.tar.bz2)

Thanks for any help.
BTW is there an IRC channel for codeblocks?
edit: have since found #codeblocks on freenode - sorry
« Last Edit: July 01, 2010, 01:54:30 am by peacenik »

Offline Jenna

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
Re: Beginner Question - re: "One or more plugins were not loaded. . . "
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 01:37:08 am »
Do you have just one installation of C::B is is there an older installation that might interfer.