Author Topic: Cygwin problem  (Read 9120 times)

Offline The 11th plague of Egypt

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Cygwin problem
« on: April 20, 2010, 05:35:31 pm »
At first, when C::B installed, it detected my cygwin installation, but it couldn't compile anything.
Then I tryed and manually set it, but it still doesn't work. NetBeans works fine, btw.
I followed this manual http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Installing_Cygwin_Compiler
I can't understand the first part (I have no MinGW, just the GCC cygwin plugin).

These are the settings

I also set the paths as the manual said.

The auto-detect button works, but when I try to compile something, I get this error

Compiling: C:\Users\Pepsi\Documents\NetBeansProjects\cerca_nodo\main.cpp
Execution of 'g++.exe   -IC:/cygwin/usr/include  -c C:/Users/Pepsi/Documents/NetBeansProjects/cerca_nodo/main.cpp -o C:/Users/Pepsi/Documents/NetBeansProjects/cerca_nodo/main.o' in 'C:\Users\Pepsi\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\CodeBlocks' failed.
Nothing to be done.

Checking for existence: C:\Users\Pepsi\Documents\NetBeansProjects\cerca_nodo\main.exe

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Cygwin problem
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2010, 11:34:23 pm »
I suggest turn on full compiler logging and verifying that the gcc.exe and g++.exe files exists in your cygwin installation.

Edit: OS Version; CB Version and Cygwin Version may be needed to provide any real help.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline The 11th plague of Egypt

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Cygwin problem
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2010, 05:09:27 pm »
The files you mentioned exist, I checked and saw them, also they get auto detected.
They are in the bin directory like the note says.

My specs:
Win7 32bits
C::B 8.02 non MinGW
CigWin 1.7.something, just updated

I don't know how to activate full logging.

Should I try the Reset to default button, or may it broke other programs too? NetBeans works afterall.

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Cygwin problem
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2010, 05:26:31 pm »
Please read the Troubleshooting section in the Wiki link you posted.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline The 11th plague of Egypt

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Cygwin problem
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2010, 05:30:32 pm »
Thanks. Whatever I do, it ends the same. It keeps asking me to build, even if I click yes, and it quits when I answer no.
I get this terminal.


g++.exe   -IC:/cygwin/usr/include  -c C:/Users/Pepsi/Documents/NetBeansProjects/es_settimana6/es_sett6.cpp -o C:/Users/Pepsi/Documents/NetBeansProjects/es_settimana6/es_sett6.o
Execution of 'g++.exe   -IC:/cygwin/usr/include  -c C:/Users/Pepsi/Documents/NetBeansProjects/es_settimana6/es_sett6.cpp -o C:/Users/Pepsi/Documents/NetBeansProjects/es_settimana6/es_sett6.o' in 'C:\Users\Pepsi\Documents\NetBeansProjects\es_settimana6' failed.
Nothing to be done.

Checking for existence: C:\Users\Pepsi\Documents\NetBeansProjects\es_settimana6\es_sett6.exe
Executing: C:\Program Files\CodeBlocks/cb_console_runner.exe "C:\Users\Pepsi\Documents\NetBeansProjects\es_settimana6\es_sett6.exe" (in C:\Users\Pepsi\Documents\NetBeansProjects\es_settimana6)
Process terminated with status -1073741510 (0 minutes, 8 seconds)
« Last Edit: April 21, 2010, 05:32:46 pm by The 11th plague of Egypt »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7588
    • My Best Post
Re: Cygwin problem
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2010, 05:35:01 pm »
My Cygwin 1.7.4 about month old installation is set up like below for toolchain.

i686-pc-cygwin-gcc-4.exe
i686-pc-cygwin-g++-4.exe
i686-pc-cygwin-g++-4.exe
ar.exe
gdb.exe
windres.exe
make.exe

It works for a simple hello world.

Note: gcc.exe is an link under Cygwin 1.7 this does not work under the normal Windows Command line system. gcc-4.exe and gcc-3.exe looks like real executable(s).

Tim S. 
« Last Edit: April 21, 2010, 05:42:20 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline The 11th plague of Egypt

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Cygwin problem
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2010, 05:41:50 pm »
I have no gcc-4, are you using a beta version?

Here are the ones I have, what should I use?


EDIT: I've created a new C::B project, it has the hello world program, but it still doesn't work.
Seems like it can't build it.

EDIT2: Ok, setting gcc-3 anb g++-3 it works, but it doesn't work setting the i686-...
I hope it'll stay fixed now. The auto-detect buttor seems really bugged.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2010, 07:10:58 pm by The 11th plague of Egypt »