Author Topic: empty "Categories"/"Templates" window trying my patience  (Read 4862 times)

Offline SenseiC

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
empty "Categories"/"Templates" window trying my patience
« on: March 22, 2010, 09:42:32 pm »
Fedora 12 x86_64 with wxGTK 2.8.10-7.fc12

building from source (SVN) per instructions in the Wiki.

downloaded the source
went into the trunk folder and issued each of the following commands from a terminal window as root:
./bootstrap
./configure
make
make install

I attached the output from ./configure so you can see that all the defaults for the build get used like "... build the scripted wizard plugin... yes"

Now when I uninstall that (with make uninstall) and then use yum to install 8.02-9.fc12.x86_64.rpm, THAT has the categories/templates window "populated".

Would someone please explain to me what I have done wrong in building AND installing from source?  I REALLY want to play with Unittest++.

SenseiC

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: March 22, 2010, 09:45:02 pm by SenseiC »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7594
    • My Best Post
Re: empty "Categories"/"Templates" window trying my patience
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 03:40:07 pm »
Quote
By default, CodeBlocks will not compile the contributed plugins from SVN. If you want to compile / install them too, replace the above ./configure command with:
Code
 ./configure --with-contrib-plugins=all

From http://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=Installing_Code::Blocks_from_source_on_Linux#Code::Blocks_installation

Please feel free to fix the Wiki page that is missing the above info.

Tim S.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2010, 04:20:08 pm by stahta01 »
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline SenseiC

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: empty "Categories"/"Templates" window trying my patience
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2010, 01:51:49 am »
As I thought, I had already spotted one post that suggested doing that, tried it, and w/o success.  Again... installing 8.02 the categories window gets "populated".  Building from source, nope.

SenseiC
« Last Edit: March 24, 2010, 02:38:07 am by SenseiC »

Offline stahta01

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 7594
    • My Best Post
Re: empty "Categories"/"Templates" window trying my patience
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 02:10:21 am »
I will try that and report back, but I'm PRETTY sure I already tried that.

SenseiC

Did you do make and make install after the correct configure?

If yes, check to make sure plug-in is enabled.

Tim S.
C Programmer working to learn more about C++ and Git.
On Windows 7 64 bit and Windows 10 64 bit.
--
When in doubt, read the CB WiKi FAQ. http://wiki.codeblocks.org

Offline SenseiC

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: empty "Categories"/"Templates" window trying my patience
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2010, 03:48:11 am »
well after several incantations (unfortunately I don't know which incantation did the trick), I have a populated list... that was on my 32-bit CentOS VM... now back to Fedora12 x64 to see what magic I can work.

Thanks for your help.

SenseiC

Offline SenseiC

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: empty "Categories"/"Templates" window trying my patience
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2010, 08:43:21 pm »
 :evil: even went so far as to COMPLETELY rebuild my system from Fedora 12 x64 kit, installed all the necessary components plus the "yum update" from hell... built from SVN, blah blah blah and Nope!

the commands I used:

su
mkdir devel
cd devel
mkdir trunk
svn checkout svn://svn.berlios.de/codeblocks/trunk
cd trunk
./bootstrap
./configure --with-contrib-plugins=all
make
make install

Just for "kicks" I think I'll try the 32-bit Fedora 12 and see what happens.  Maybe THAT will work.  Who knows?

SenseiC


Offline SenseiC

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: empty "Categories"/"Templates" window trying my patience
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2010, 01:45:08 am »
Sure enough... installed the i686 kit... bootstrap/configure/make/make install... PRESTO! templates galore.

Something's awry with the x86_64.  I'll stick with this (because I've got work to do) for now, but at some point need/want to try to solve the mystery.

SenseiC