Author Topic: New joiner.  (Read 3606 times)

Offline richarduk

• Multiple posting newcomer
New joiner.
« on: March 11, 2010, 07:11:03 pm »
Hi, just like to say hi. I've settled on using code blocks for my Linux development as I feel more at home coming from Visual studio. Great work guys!
I've built it fetching the source from SVN and had no problems doing this on Ubuntu 9.10

So, a question, what steps should I take so that I can contribute?

I've been a programmer for over 20 years, starting out in the 8bit days, doing well on the Amiga then moving to the PC and windows (whoops).
I've been working in 3D development since 97 and have worked for the likes of Sega, EA, Eidos and recently TomTom. I've also done a lot of military coding work which I can't talk about. ;)

So I think I can bring some of my experience to bare on this project and help to move it along.

So, where do I start???

Offline oBFusCATed

• Developer
  • Lives here!
    • Travis build status
Re: New joiner.
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 08:08:08 pm »
Find a bug and fix it or look at the bug tracker at berlios.de :)
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline richarduk

• Multiple posting newcomer
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2010, 08:40:13 pm »
Is there a tutorial on getting started on bug fixing? I would guess I need to create a few accounts. Can you point me in the right direction? :)

Offline MortenMacFly

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2010, 09:31:24 pm »
Welcome! :-)

Is there a tutorial on getting started on bug fixing? I would guess I need to create a few accounts. Can you point me in the right direction? :)
Not really.

You don't really need an account in the first place. From the main webpage of C::B you can get the sources of C::B via SVN. The WiKi and the forums features a lot information about how to compile C::B yourself for your platform.