Author Topic: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI  (Read 431479 times)

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #135 on: December 08, 2009, 06:55:34 am »
I will test (and fix if needed) this also.
Done it already while you were typing... ;-) "At your fingertips..."  :lol: :lol: :lol:
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #136 on: December 08, 2009, 09:09:07 am »
Build is OK now, thanks.

Here is the updated patch for the auinotebook: http://smrt.is-a-geek.org/codeblocks/cb_aui_notebook.patch
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #137 on: December 12, 2009, 12:21:19 am »
Next patch for the branch: http://smrt.is-a-geek.org/codeblocks/dbg_refactor0007.patch

What it does:
1. Adds callbacks for expanding/collapsing watches.
2. Adds callback to test if the ToolMenu should be enabled
3. Extracts the two methods for switching the layout to the base class
4. Adds ShowBacktraceDialog in DebuggerManager
5. cbDebuggerPlugin::BuildModuleMenu does something only for the active debugger plugin
6. Fix a bug with the expanded status of a watch (don't remember the details any more)

Hope it is good and can be applied. Comments are welcome.

And now here is the link for my plugin: svn://smrt.is-a-geek.org/cb_gdb_mi/debugger_gdbmi
0. This is a GDB/mi debugger plugin.
1. Requires GDB 7.0+ and CB with the patch in this post applied
2. It works only on linux (for the moment) :( .
3. It does the basic stuff at the moment.
4. It supports the new python pretty printers (gdb has some problems though :( )

So please test. I'm sure it has many problems which I hope I can fix.

p.s. I hope I'll have the time to port it windows tomorrow
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #138 on: December 14, 2009, 03:19:10 pm »
Next patch for the branch: http://smrt.is-a-geek.org/codeblocks/dbg_refactor0007.patch
Testing... :-)

And now here is the link for my plugin: svn://smrt.is-a-geek.org/cb_gdb_mi/debugger_gdbmi
I am unable to access this repo. :-( Is it possible to access this via http, too / providing a patch?
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #139 on: December 14, 2009, 04:36:23 pm »
I am unable to access this repo. :-( Is it possible to access this via http, too / providing a patch?
No, I've to set it up. What is the problem with the native svn protocol? (I've not tested it from the outside world :( )
The plugin is 99% unrelated to the current c::b debugger plugin, so I can't provide a patch.
I can provide an archive with the code.

I've made the plugin to almost work on win32, tonight will try to fix it 100%.
One thing I've noticed is that the win32 gdb has no python support => no pretty printers on win32 :(
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #140 on: December 14, 2009, 08:13:47 pm »
Morten, can you try this patch http://smrt.is-a-geek.org/codeblocks/dbg_refactor0008.patch too?
It is possible that you can't apply it automatically.

The patch fixes a problem I've with the gdb/mi plugin and path like: "C:\\dev\projects\\bla\bla.cpp"
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5915
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #141 on: December 15, 2009, 04:17:30 pm »
One thing I've noticed is that the win32 gdb has no python support => no pretty printers on win32 :(
so bad to hear. is it possible that someone build a win32 gdb that support python? :D
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #142 on: December 15, 2009, 10:59:38 pm »
Here is the correct link to my svn: svn://smrt.is-a-geek.org/cb_gdb_mi/debbugger_gdbmi
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #143 on: December 16, 2009, 06:34:56 am »
Here is the correct link to my svn: svn://smrt.is-a-geek.org/cb_gdb_mi/debbugger_gdbmi
Yupp - this one works. :-)
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #144 on: December 17, 2009, 12:19:19 am »
Code
 	* debugger branch: update to wxpropgrid hopefully fixing the visualisation issue with +/- on Windows
Bug is fixed, Thanks Morten.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #145 on: January 02, 2010, 05:23:42 pm »
Next patch for the branch: http://smrt.is-a-geek.org/codeblocks/dbg_refactor0007.patch
Testing... :-)

Any progress?
I have lots of changes coming, but want to see this patch applied :) and sorry if I'm rushing you.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #146 on: January 03, 2010, 03:11:40 pm »
Any progress?
It's applied and ready for commit at work. As I didn't work during x-mas there is a slight delay... ;-) Gimme some time to be back at work (tomorrow to be precise).
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #147 on: January 03, 2010, 04:11:57 pm »
You work on C::B at work  8) :lol:

I wasn't at work too during Christmas, so I have plenty of time to work on C::B  :)
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #148 on: January 03, 2010, 06:00:10 pm »
You work on C::B at work  8) :lol:
I don't, I just apply patches there. Hence I am using it for development at work certainly. Thus a good patch level is very helpful.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #149 on: January 04, 2010, 08:34:50 am »
...try again. I avoided another merge with trunk on purpose as thee seems to be difficulties atm...
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ