Author Topic: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI  (Read 430956 times)

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #75 on: September 17, 2009, 09:58:42 am »
Code
src\plugins\debuggergdb\debugger_defs.h:12:22: tr1/memory: No such file or directory
You need gcc4.0.0+ because I'm using std::shared_ptr<> here and there.
Morten is that a problem?

By the way: if I close a project, the breakpointlist is not cleared.
Will fix tonight, thanks for the report
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

mariocup

  • Guest
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #76 on: September 17, 2009, 10:03:40 am »
Hi oBFusCATed,

some weeks ago I switched to GCC 4.4.0 but had problems building CB with auto-import if I remember correctly. I will try it again with GCC 4.4.0 tonight.

Thanks

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #77 on: September 17, 2009, 11:48:49 am »
Morten is that a problem?
Funny that I did not realise this because I just swapped to GCC4 myself very recently. Hmmm... so far we only used 3.4.5 for official builds. But now as GCC4.0.0. is officially out we might switch, but this needs some discussion. AFAIK the nightly builds are already donw ith GCC4 (need to check that, too).
But if you are only using std::shared_ptr<> why not implementing a GCC 3.4.5 "compatibility header" similar like boost)?
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #78 on: September 17, 2009, 11:59:05 am »
Linux build-system is updated in debugger/propgrid-branch (C::B projectfiles and automake).

Please test and post any issues.

Thanks.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #79 on: September 17, 2009, 12:18:58 pm »
But if you are only using std::shared_ptr<> why not implementing a GCC 3.4.5 "compatibility header" similar like boost)?
You propose to extract the shared_ptr from boost?
I can remove them. I'm using them only in std::vector<std::tr1::shared_ptr<some_type> > container_some_type.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #80 on: September 17, 2009, 12:56:08 pm »
You propose to extract the shared_ptr from boost?
No, surely not. :-)
I meant a freely available simple (!) implementation in one header file that gets included if the GCC version is less than 4. If it makes sense to use shared pointers in your case I wouldn't want to remove that option. I need to have a look where and why exactly you need them.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #81 on: September 17, 2009, 08:14:40 pm »
OK, I've build it with the autotools build system. (r5804)
It is now my main installation.  :lol:
Some feedback:

1. The new icons are awful ... don't like them at all (maybe I'm too used to the old ones), can we use the desktop icon theme on linux in particular, so C::B can feel more integrated?
2. The highlight occurrences is broken somehow... here is a screen shot: http://smrt.is-a-geek.org/codeblocks/cb_highlight_but.png
3. Can we have "X" images on the start up page, next to the project/workspace/file list, instead of the "X" symbol?
4. The watch windows seems to work also setting breakpoints...

One thing, I think would be cool to implement is "select something in the editor, drag&drop it on the watch window, new watch is added".
The question is where should I look for the drag&dropping thing?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #82 on: September 17, 2009, 08:33:24 pm »
OK, I've build it with the autotools build system. (r5804)
It is now my main installation.  :lol:
Some feedback:

1. The new icons are awful ... don't like them at all (maybe I'm too used to the old ones), can we use the desktop icon theme on linux in particular, so C::B can feel more integrated?
2. The highlight occurrences is broken somehow... here is a screen shot: http://smrt.is-a-geek.org/codeblocks/cb_highlight_but.png
3. Can we have "X" images on the start up page, next to the project/workspace/file list, instead of the "X" symbol?
4. The watch windows seems to work also setting breakpoints...

One thing, I think would be cool to implement is "select something in the editor, drag&drop it on the watch window, new watch is added".
The question is where should I look for the drag&dropping thing?

I_m working on the second one (know the cause and fixing it) will commit later.

3. I have a working copy that uses trashcans instead of the x and I have put them in front of the line, I can provide a screenshot later.


Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #83 on: September 17, 2009, 10:33:21 pm »
3. I have a working copy that uses trashcans instead of the x and I have put them in front of the line, I can provide a screenshot later.

Here it is:

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #84 on: September 17, 2009, 11:35:31 pm »
By the way: if I close a project, the breakpointlist is not cleared.

Here is the patch for the fix: http://smrt.is-a-geek.org/codeblocks/dbg_refactor/remove_bkpt_on_prj_close.patch
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #85 on: September 18, 2009, 01:52:31 pm »
1. The new icons are awful ...
As I said in the logs: we can provide icon sets. We would have two now. :-)

3. Can we have "X" images on the start up page, next to the project/workspace/file list, instead of the "X" symbol?
Here it is:
Cool, I like it! Submit, submit! ;-)

The question is where should I look for the drag&dropping thing?
What do you mean by that? Do you mean how D&D works in wxWidgets or C::B in particular?
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #86 on: September 18, 2009, 01:53:55 pm »
Here is the patch for the fix: http://smrt.is-a-geek.org/codeblocks/dbg_refactor/remove_bkpt_on_prj_close.patch
Works here && applied in the branch. Thanks.

One question: Do you save/restore the bookmarks "somehow"? Because I found some information related in the config file...?! Naah... I'll have a look...
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #87 on: September 18, 2009, 01:59:40 pm »
I just found another issue:

I set a BP in line 33, close the file and reopen it.
The list says I have a BP in line 33, but the icon appears in 34.
If I now click in the margin on line 34 nothing happens, I can not add or remove the BP-icon, if I right-click it says "edit, remove ...", but nothing happens.
If I click the margin in line 33, I get two identical entries in the BP-list and a BP-icon in 33, if I click again, both entries (and the icon) are removed.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #88 on: September 18, 2009, 02:15:59 pm »
If I click the margin in line 33, I get two identical entries in the BP-list and a BP-icon in 33, if I click again, both entries (and the icon) are removed.
Harhar... seems we've re-introduced an old bug somehow... ;-)

Edit: What is not clear to me: Why are the BP's handled one time in m_State and another time in m_breakpoints?! There is a funny mixture of what is being used inside debuggergdb. It's not clear to me when which version is right...?!
« Last Edit: September 18, 2009, 02:18:45 pm by MortenMacFly »
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #89 on: September 18, 2009, 02:16:51 pm »
Works here && applied in the branch. Thanks.
Thanks, too

One question: Do you save/restore the bookmarks "somehow"? Because I found some information related in the config file...?! Naah... I'll have a look...
If you ask about breakpoint, not bookmarks the answer is no. Also I haven't touched the bookmarks at all

I just found another issue:

I set a BP in line 33, close the file and reopen it.
The list says I have a BP in line 33, but the icon appears in 34.
If I now click in the margin on line 34 nothing happens, I can not add or remove the BP-icon, if I right-click it says "edit, remove ...", but nothing happens.
If I click the margin in line 33, I get two identical entries in the BP-list and a BP-icon in 33, if I click again, both entries (and the icon) are removed.

Thanks for the report, I'll look at it in a minute
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]