Author Topic: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI  (Read 430742 times)

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #555 on: January 02, 2012, 07:22:50 pm »
Feature wish:
I have 2 debugger configurations: One for 32 bit and one for 64 bit. Switching between those would be easier if the toolbar would offer a drop-down box to select the currently active config on-the-fly if.

For now, I always need to enter the debugger settings, even though I have two targets (32 bit and 64 bit) in one project.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #556 on: January 02, 2012, 08:46:53 pm »
Why don't you set the correct debugger config in the toolchain executables for your 32bit and 64bit compilers and then use Debug->Active debuggers->Target's default?

Do you know that you can have multiple configs for one debugger plugin and you can switch them in Debug->Active debuggers?
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #557 on: January 03, 2012, 07:53:21 am »
Do you know that you can have multiple configs for one debugger plugin and you can switch them in Debug->Active debuggers?
No. ::) :P

Why don't you set the correct debugger config in the toolchain executables for your 32bit and 64bit compilers and then use Debug->Active debuggers->Target's default?
Where do I set the preferred debugger for a target?
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #558 on: January 03, 2012, 09:09:47 am »
In the Settings -> Compiler -> Toolchain executable -> Debugger
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #559 on: January 03, 2012, 10:10:06 am »
In the Settings -> Compiler -> Toolchain executable -> Debugger
Yes, I know that. But this is global and not per-target. I guess I mis-understood.

But the option from the menu is just fine...
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #560 on: January 03, 2012, 10:26:47 am »
If you have two different compiler for two different targets it will use the appropriate debugger configuration.

Probably we can add some options for this per target, but I'm not sure what is needed, so you can help me in this regard :)
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #561 on: January 03, 2012, 10:47:44 am »
Probably we can add some options for this per target, but I'm not sure what is needed, so you can help me in this regard :)
I don't think so...
But the option from the menu is just fine...
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #562 on: January 04, 2012, 12:27:16 am »
The branch crashes for me in batchbuild mode (on Linux and Windows).
When trying to create m_disassemblyDialog from inside  DebuggerManager::SetInterfaceFactory wxScintilla stops with "Could not create a new wxControl instance.".

Too late to dig into it later at the moment.

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #563 on: January 04, 2012, 01:01:36 am »
Yes, we discussed it before and there was no approved solution.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #564 on: January 04, 2012, 06:41:05 am »
Yes, we discussed it before and there was no approved solution.
Do we really need to initialize debugging-stuff in batchbuild mode ?

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #565 on: January 04, 2012, 09:05:22 am »
The thing is that the code assumes that the debugging windows are correctly created and never checks for null pointers.
I can add the checks but I prefer not to do so.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #566 on: January 04, 2012, 10:19:09 am »
I've merged the debugger branch with trunk and adjusted a few more wx 2.9.x compatibility things. Feel free to compile the C::B core of the branch using the project file "CodeBlocks_wx29.cbp" and "update29.bat" (also in SVN).

The same applies to trunk for those who want to try wx 2.9.x progress.

BTW: If you are compiling wx 2.9.x, make sure to switch off "WXWIN_COMPATIBILITY_2_6" and "WXWIN_COMPATIBILITY_2_8" when compiling wxWidgets 2.9.x from sources.
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #567 on: January 04, 2012, 03:57:35 pm »
Morten:
"#define wxPG_COMPATIBILITY_1_2_0 0" breaks the build of wxsmith.
When committing please ensure that the contrib plugins build, too, because I'm using the branch as my main install!
Also this change should have been made in trunk, not in the branch!
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #568 on: January 04, 2012, 05:27:14 pm »
"#define wxPG_COMPATIBILITY_1_2_0 0" breaks the build of wxsmith.
Not for me... I'll try though...

Also this change should have been made in trunk, not in the branch!
Why? wxPropGrid is already modified by you in the branch and differs therefore from trunk IMHO... I maybe wrong though...
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline oBFusCATed

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 13413
    • Travis build status
Re: Splitting debugger in two - specific debugger and common GUI
« Reply #569 on: January 04, 2012, 05:49:56 pm »
Not for me... I'll try though...
There is a missing wxIsIdOk or something like that when the compatibility is off.

Why? wxPropGrid is already modified by you in the branch and differs therefore from trunk IMHO... I maybe wrong though...
Because this helps porting the code using wxpropgrid to wx2.9 a lot, and so commits changing wxsmith will fail to compile early if this change is in trunk.
(most of the time I ignore long posts)
[strangers don't send me private messages, I'll ignore them; post a topic in the forum, but first read the rules!]