Author Topic: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution  (Read 14562 times)

Offline resander

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Some of the more important dialogs in codeblocks have buttons outside the screen or information partially visible at 800x600 resolution.

On Linux, pressing Altkey while dragging the mouse moves the dialog. Using that I can move the dialog upwards in order to create some expansion room at the bottom of the screen, but the problem is that resize (drag the bottom edge downwards of a dialog or control) operation does not work. A popup menu containing Resize, Move etc appears instead. Clicking Resize on the menu sends the mouse (now with drag-icon cursor) to an arbitrary position on the screen, i.e. the mouse does not stay on the lower dialog element edge. Moving the drag cursor back to the lower edge and starting drag usually does not work. The menu pops up again nine times out of ten. If the dialog resize is disabled then it would never be possible to create extra room at the bottom.     

The problem seems to happen when the dialog titlebar disappears outside the containing window or screen. If the dialog is smaller and all of it stays within view then the resize works as normal.

Some notes:

Build options on Project Menu
  OK/Cancel buttons not visible.
  Resize enabled, but usually not working (see above).


Settings Menu
Environment...
  OK/Cancel buttons not visible for any dialog.
  All dialogs except thread search have a lot of spare space and can easily be changed to
  show everything. For example, listboxes and multi-line edit controls are usually very
  large and can be shortened.
  Thread Search has many checkboxes. Can be rearranged but would be crowded. Better
  to subdivide by using Tabs at the top.
  No dialog in this group can be resized. Resize cursor does not appear and
  is greyed out on the popup menu.   
 
Editor..
  OK/Cancel partially visible, so this settings group is ok.

Compiler and Linker...
  OK/Cancel visible, but there is a lot of information that cannot be seen
  above the OK/Cancel buttons, for example for Linker settings the library listbox
  is only partially visible and the Add/Edit/Delete buttons are not visible at all.
 
Global variables...
Scripting...
  Both OK.



I have to use 800x600 screen resolution for two reasons: Higher resolution not possible on Ubuntu 8.10 due to a display driver problem. Poor eyesight, so can't see clearly what is on the screen at higher resolutions. The latter has not been a problem in the past because most dialogs work and look reasonable at 800x600. I used Windows for more than 10 years and can only remember a handful of applications that had the buttons outside the screen.

I think all buttons and controls on codeblocks dialogs should be fully visible at 800x600.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2009, 01:59:43 pm »
I'm using CB in a 1024*768 screen under Windows XP.

Menu->Setting->Environment, then the dialog size is 757*628 pixels. So, it seems a little bigger. And it can't be resized either.

My suggestion is to use a resized dialog and a vertical and horizontal scroll bar should be need. :D
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2009, 02:39:28 pm »
It's a known problem and we discussed it in this thread: http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,10124.0.html

But the dialogs are still the same (until now).

If you are interested in the (wxScrollingDialog-)patch (and build C::B yourself) I can try to update it to recent trunk (the next days).

I don't know if any of the other suggested solutions are ready for test.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2009, 02:50:13 pm »
It's a known problem and we discussed it in this thread: http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,10124.0.html

But the dialogs are still the same (until now).

If you are interested in the (wxScrollingDialog-)patch (and build C::B yourself) I can try to update it to recent trunk (the next days).

I don't know if any of the other suggested solutions are ready for test.


Thanks Jens.
I can build CB myself of the trunk.   :D
But In that thread, some people prefer using wxNotebook than wxScrollDialog. Have you get the decision?
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2009, 02:59:26 pm »
By the way, I found the "build option dialog", the "target tree view" seems too narrow, and I can't resize it. Could its size be changed?
Thanks.
See the snapshot below, I'm opening an OpenCV library.






[attachment deleted by admin]
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2009, 02:16:52 am »
@jens

It seems you forget applying your patch? :D
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2009, 06:45:12 am »
@jens

It seems you forget applying your patch? :D
No, but I have to work a little bit to earn my money.

So it has no precedencd to update the wxScrollingDialog at the moment.
I hope I find some time during the week or weekend.

Sorry.

Offline MortenMacFly

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 9694
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2009, 08:37:05 am »
It seems you forget applying your patch? :D
...which one?
Compiler logging: Settings->Compiler & Debugger->tab "Other"->Compiler logging="Full command line"
C::B Manual: https://www.codeblocks.org/docs/main_codeblocks_en.html
C::B FAQ: https://wiki.codeblocks.org/index.php?title=FAQ

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2009, 09:18:56 am »
It seems you forget applying your patch? :D
...which one?

The one jens created in this thread.
http://forums.codeblocks.org/index.php/topic,10124.0.html
I will not apply the patch, neither to trunk, nor to wxfnb_to_aui, but I will attach it here, if I find the time.
So you can test it.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2009, 12:56:44 am »
Updating the patch was easier, than I thought.

You can download it from: http://apt.jenslody.de/debian/patches/scrollingdialog_20090528-1.patch

It's a patch against svn r5611 and should work on linux (tested) and windows (not tested, because it's still compiling the contrib-plugins on my virtual w2k-box).

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #11 on: May 28, 2009, 04:39:26 am »
I applied this patch. (Windows TDM-GCC4.4)
After built the CB, it seems I can't see any scrollingdialog there. Quite strang :(
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline Jenna

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7255
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #12 on: May 28, 2009, 06:40:38 am »
I applied this patch. (Windows TDM-GCC4.4)
After built the CB, it seems I can't see any scrollingdialog there. Quite strang :(

Did you read the other thread carefully ?

You should only see a difference, if the actual dialog does not fit in the screen.
You can simulate this by changing your screens resolution to a smaller dimension temporarilly.

Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5910
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: Problems with codeblocks dialogboxes at 800x600 resolution
« Reply #13 on: May 28, 2009, 06:56:20 am »
Did you read the other thread carefully ?

You should only see a difference, if the actual dialog does not fit in the screen.
You can simulate this by changing your screens resolution to a smaller dimension temporarilly.

Oh, I'm sorry.
I haven't read carefully. :(

I do see a difference when I change my screen resolution.(need to restard CB).

Thank you!
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.