Author Topic: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.  (Read 14570 times)

Offline adorlith

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 22
CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« on: October 10, 2005, 05:12:01 pm »
  I got a strange thing this morning. I start CodeBlocks, it shows the splash screen, ask to choose the default compiler and freezes in minimized state :( . When I click on the taskbar it doesn't maximize. So I used the task managerto maximized it, and I see that it loaded the last project (CodeBlocks-wx2.6.0.cbp) - RC2, but everything is freezed.
  I'm still able to start CodeBlocks using the official binary package(RC1-1) downloaded from SourceForge, but it doesn't load any project.
Where is stored the last project that should be loaded at startup ?

OS: WinXP

Note: I'm talking about CodeBlocks RC2 compiled with wxWidgets 2.6.1.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2005, 05:29:46 pm by adorlith »

Offline tiwag

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • sailing away ...
    • tiwag.cb
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2005, 05:29:59 pm »
...  I'm still able to start CodeBlocks using the official binary package(RC1-1) downloaded from SourceForge, but it doesn't load any project.
there was a change in the project file (*.cbp) format
notice the "::" between "Code" and "Blocks"

CodeBlocks RC1 *.cbp format
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE Code::Blocks_project_file>
<Code::Blocks_project_file>
    ...
</Code::Blocks_project_file>


CodeBlocks actual CVS version *.cbp format
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<!DOCTYPE CodeBlocks_project_file>
<CodeBlocks_project_file>
    ...
</CodeBlocks_project_file>


if you open an old (<=RC1) project file with a new (CVS) version of Codeblocks,
then the project file is updated to the new format
and the old (<=RC1) Codeblocks cannot read the new project file format.

if you want to open this project with CB-RC1, you have to edit the project file by hand

replace
Code: [Select]
CodeBlocks_project_filewith
Code: [Select]
Code::Blocks_project_file

Offline tiwag

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • sailing away ...
    • tiwag.cb
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2005, 05:42:17 pm »
...Note: I'm talking about CodeBlocks RC2 compiled with wxWidgets 2.6.1.

btw: i'm using the same wxWidgets version as you and never had a freeze  :?
strange - but i have read elsewhere from that freezing too

you could try to start CodeBlocks (RC2) with the following commandline:

Code: [Select]
<Path_to_Codeblocks>\codeblocks --clear-configuration
and look, if you get the freeze afterwards too.

Offline adorlith

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2005, 05:53:13 pm »
Is not that the problem. I'm using CB RC2 and the project file I used last time is CodeBlocks-wx2.6.0.cbp from the RC2, so there's no incompatibility.
 I renamed the project so CB cannot find it, but it still freezes. I maximize it using the task manager and I see it shows the start page. The last message is:
"Found 9 plugins: AStylePlugin..... WindowsXPLookNFeel"
 Should be any other messages written following this one during a normal startup ? A never paid attention to the startup messages.

Offline adorlith

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2005, 05:57:01 pm »
...Note: I'm talking about CodeBlocks RC2 compiled with wxWidgets 2.6.1.

btw: i'm using the same wxWidgets version as you and never had a freeze  :?
strange - but i have read elsewhere from that freezing too

you could try to start CodeBlocks (RC2) with the following commandline:

Code: [Select]
<Path_to_Codeblocks>\codeblocks --clear-configuration
and look, if you get the freeze afterwards too.


I cleared the config but it still freezes showing the Start here page.

Everything went ok the previous days, I compiled some wxWidgets test app. Strange :(

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2005, 05:58:15 pm »
adorlith:

:D *THANK YOU!!!!* :D

I've been having  this freeze and nobody seemed to reproduce it. At least we're two now.

Some questions:

* In Settings, Plugins, Code Completion, what is your setup? Do you have the "improved stability" flag checked?
* Is the "show progress dialog on parsing" (or something) checked?
* have you tried deleting the .cbCache files on your project's directory?

It seems that the freeze only occurs when loading the parser cache. Try opening a .c or .cpp file with codeblocks (by double clicking) and then close the file, save the workspace. This will prevent project loading.

Then, switch the information pane to "Codeblocks debug" or "Application debug log" (what was the name?). It gives more info than the default "codeblocks" tab.

Offline adorlith

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2005, 06:33:37 pm »
* In Settings, Plugins, Code Completion, what is your setup? Do you have the "improved stability" flag checked?

I remember that I didn't check the flag. And now I cannot check it anymore since the CB freezes.

Quote
* Is the "show progress dialog on parsing" (or something) checked?

I don't know :(

Quote
* have you tried deleting the .cbCache files on your project's directory?

no


Quote
It seems that the freeze only occurs when loading the parser cache. Try opening a .c or .cpp file with codeblocks (by double clicking) and then close the file, save the workspace. This will prevent project loading.

I tried, but it still loads the project file and freezes after. I renamed the project directory, so now it cannot find the project file, and now it freezes showing the start page. :)

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #7 on: October 10, 2005, 06:58:08 pm »
OK...

time for REGEDIT! :D

from windows, run: "regedit". Then search for HKEY_CURRENT_USER, Software, Code::Blocks, Code::Blocks v1.0. Please  type in what you read under "code_completion","environment", and "message_manager".

BTW, what color and screen resolution are you using? I'm using 1024x768, 15 bits color.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2005, 07:05:09 pm by rickg22 »

Offline adorlith

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #8 on: October 10, 2005, 07:22:00 pm »
OK...

time for REGEDIT! :D

from windows, run: "regedit". Then search for HKEY_CURRENT_USER, Software, Code::Blocks, Code::Blocks v1.0. Please  type in what you read under "code_completion","environment", and "message_manager".

BTW, what color and screen resolution are you using? I'm using 1024x768, 15 bits color.

There's no "code_completion" section.
The "safe_but_slow" value was set to 0, I set to 1 but no luck.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline adorlith

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #9 on: October 10, 2005, 07:27:25 pm »

BTW, what color and screen resolution are you using? I'm using 1024x768, 15 bits color.

1024x768, 32 bits color.

Do you think there's any hidden code that checks for screen resolution and freezes the program for poor programmers using less than 1200x1024 ?  :lol:

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #10 on: October 10, 2005, 07:42:22 pm »
I supposed it *might* be a bug in wxwidgets regarding dialogs with 15bits color resolution, but it seems not.

Oh yeah. Mind posting a screenshot of the frozen C::B? And a try including the CPU usage (press ctrl-alt-del) so we can see the tasks.

Finally, as a workaround, try setting the blank_workspace to 1 and see if it doesn't freeze now.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2005, 07:45:31 pm by rickg22 »

Offline adorlith

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #11 on: October 10, 2005, 08:17:58 pm »
 No luck with blank_workspace.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline rickg22

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 2283
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #12 on: October 10, 2005, 08:21:27 pm »
WEIRD! VERY WEIRD! It doesn't seem like it froze at all to me...

In the freeze that I experience, nothing is shown, just a white blank window. (This is getting more creepy everytime)

Offline TDragon

  • Lives here!
  • ****
  • Posts: 936
    • Twilight Dragon Media
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #13 on: October 10, 2005, 08:32:19 pm »
If you're looking for more startup freeze experiences, it's happening for me as well.

The symptoms:
1. codeblocks.exe is run.
2. The compiler auto-detection window appears. I click Close.
3. Nothing happens
4. Code::Blocks v1.0 appears on the taskbar, but clicking it does not bring it up and right-clicking has no effect
5. It appears as "Running" in the Applications tab of the Task Manager, with 00 CPU usage and about 14,900 k mem usage
6. It can be "artificially" shown by right-clicking in the Applications tab of the Task Manager and choosing "Maximize". The main window appears mostly as normal; however, it does not respond to anything.

My screenshots would be basically identical to adorlith's.

I conjecture it's freezing/pausing somewhere in wxWidgets. I'll try running it in GDB to find out where shortly.
http://tdm-gcc.tdragon.net/ - TDM-GCC compiler suite for Windows (GCC 5.1.0 2015-06-28, 32/64-bit, no extra DLLs)

Offline adorlith

  • Multiple posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: CodeBlocks freezes during startup.
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2005, 02:24:48 pm »
  Here's the stack:
....................................................................................................................
(gdb) attach 7588                                                               
Attaching to program `D:\Utils\CodeBlocksRC2_debug\codeblocks.exe', process 7588
                                                                               
[Switching to thread 7588.0x145c]                                               
(gdb) where                                                                     
#0  0x7c901231 in wxscintilla_dll_iname ()                                     
#1  0x7c9507a8 in wxscintilla_dll_iname ()                                     
(gdb)                                                                           
.....................................................................................................................

Am I missing something ? I was expecting to see more function calls.