Author Topic: GCC Optimization  (Read 15629 times)

Offline nickrt

• Single posting newcomer
GCC Optimization
« on: March 28, 2009, 01:17:58 pm »
Hello - I hope this is the right place! Firstly I love Code:Blocks as a development environment!!
Quick question - does the included GCC compiler (in PC environment?) support (a) 64-bit code generation and (b) the -mtune=core2 (or even core4?!) optimizations? I have developed some very maths intensive code that needs to run as fast as jolly well possible!!

Thanks for any help/suggestions!!

Nick

Offline CBLaw

Re: GCC Optimization
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2009, 03:19:53 am »
Hey nickrt, I'm no pro, but. if you right click your project and select 'build options' you can set up the GCC compiler. On my machine I'm seeing 'Intel Pentium 4 Nocona (MMX SSE SSE2, SSE3, 64-bit extensions) listed about 2/3 of the down the list of compiler flags.  Of course this is only one of many CPU's you can build for. Hope this helps...

Offline thomas

• Administrator
  • Lives here!
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2009, 02:32:31 pm »
There is no difference between Core 2 and what you call "Core 4". The latter is Core 2 with two extra cores, other than that, quad-core and dual-core CPUs of the same generation are identical.

The Core 2 architecture is supported by MinGW/gcc versions 4.3 and up. The official MinGW branch does not support 64-bit code generation, however there is an inofficial MinGW64 project doing that.
Under Linux/BSD/whatever, gcc certainly supports 64-bit code generation, has been for years.

So, no and no.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 02:35:25 pm by thomas »
"We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: Premature quotation is the root of public humiliation."

Offline nickrt

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2009, 10:19:27 am »
Hello

Thank you for the help!