Author Topic: No debugger  (Read 3068 times)

Offline zorro

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
No debugger
« on: February 10, 2009, 12:20:59 pm »
I've just installed the latest version of CB (8.02), created a debug-project but can't find the debuuger. For instance there is no Debug menu or a possibilty to change debugger settings. Right-clicking on a line of code shows the 'add-breakpoint' option but doesn't add anythning to my program. How do i get this working? I've seen other people complaining about this but I could not find a solution to my problem. I must be simple, or not?

Offline zorro

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: No debugger
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2009, 01:14:08 pm »
It took some time but finally solved my own problem. For anybody who's curious: you have to enable the debugger plugin (Plugins -> manage plugins, select debugger, click on enable). It is a bit strange that this option is not enabled by default.


Offline ollydbg

  • Developer
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 5247
  • OpenCV and Robotics
    • Chinese OpenCV forum moderator
Re: No debugger
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2009, 03:22:25 am »
It took some time but finally solved my own problem. For anybody who's curious: you have to enable the debugger plugin (Plugins -> manage plugins, select debugger, click on enable). It is a bit strange that this option is not enabled by default.


NO, In my windows, this plugin is enabled by default.
If some piece of memory should be reused, turn them to variables (or const variables).
If some piece of operations should be reused, turn them to functions.
If they happened together, then turn them to classes.

Offline _Ray_

  • Single posting newcomer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: No debugger
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2009, 03:53:40 pm »
Hi I don't want to create new topic and have solved ask here for my question.
So,question:
I can use any compiler with CB.
Can I use any debugger?
Is there a possibility to use any other debugger with CB(not GDB) ?

Offline jens

  • Administrator
  • Lives here!
  • *****
  • Posts: 7265
    • Jens' unofficial debian-repository for the Code::Blocks - IDE
Re: No debugger
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2009, 04:02:20 pm »
You can use many compilers with C::B, but (as far as I know) only gdb (for gcc/MinGW-projects) and cdb (for MS-projects) as debugger.

Gdb is well supported, I don't know how good C::B works together with cdb.