Code::Blocks Forums

User forums => Help => Topic started by: zyd on June 14, 2008, 09:23:39 pm

Title: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: zyd on June 14, 2008, 09:23:39 pm
H!, I install C::B on fedora8 using source code, I have a problem: it can't compile a project,
error tips like this:
"LogTest - Debug" uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]. Probably the toolchain path within the compiler options is not setup correctly?! Skipping...
Nothing to be done.

My OS installed g++... what can i do for this ?
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: mariocup on June 14, 2008, 10:43:32 pm
Hi zyd,

go to menu "Settings->Compiler and debugger" of codeblocks. Then select you compiler in the drog down list and choose the tab "Toolchain executables". Now configure the path of the compiler binaries e.g. /usr/local. Do not add the bin-path (read the note!!).

Bye,

Mario
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: zyd on June 15, 2008, 01:43:21 pm
Hi Mario:

thanks.
 :)
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: keltix on June 24, 2008, 01:59:10 am
THANX MARIO!!!!!!! i signed up just to say that
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: newb22 on July 24, 2008, 04:25:20 am
hey how do you find the complier binaries
thanks
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: stahta01 on July 26, 2008, 04:56:17 am
hey how do you find the complier binaries
thanks

Depends on which compiler you installed; Operating System also makes a difference.

Tim S

PS, The Physic has this century off.
Title: Re: ... uses an [SEARCH THE FORUMS BEFORE YOU POST. THIS HAS BEEN ANSWERED MANY TIMES!]
Post by: aredhel_vlsi on October 05, 2011, 09:36:04 pm
Hello I am a MAC OS X user  and I still have the problem. Where should I configurate the path, I have no local directory.
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!] [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: AdamHk90 on February 05, 2012, 06:57:32 pm
Hello I am also a mac user (OSX 10.58) that is having problems with the compiler settings in Codeblocks. This is my first time using Codeblocks on a mac and yes, I have installed Xcode v3.2. I have searched all the forums on the internet regarding setting up the correct toolchain path for the GNU GCC Compiler. However, I have been unsuccessful in compiling any of my code. I don't know where the correct compiler installation directory on my mac is, therefore, I have am not able to link to it. The auto-detect feature has not been able to detect the GNU GCC compiler.  However, I have linked all the bin files in the toolchain executables setting page correctly (I think).

I linked the bin files to the following directory: Developer/usr/bin

C compiler: gcc-4.0 (bin)
C++ compiler: g++-4.0 (bin)
Linker for dynamic libs: g++-4.0 (bin)
Linker for static libs: ar (bin)
Resource compiler: left blank
Make program: gnumake (bin)

I have used Codeblocks successfully on windows, but I would like to use Codeblocks on my mac. Any help would be much appreciated.
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!] [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: stahta01 on February 05, 2012, 08:08:20 pm
Try "/usr" instead of "/usr/bin" Under windows Code::Blocks adds the bin to the path.

Tim S.
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!] [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!] [YOUR ANSWER IS
Post by: AdamHk90 on February 05, 2012, 11:25:50 pm
I have attached a screen shot of my compiler settings that are still causing a compiling error. Any mac users of codeblocks dealt with this problem?

I have tried /usr and /Developer/usr both with no success.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!] [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: oBFusCATed on February 06, 2012, 10:13:02 am
Where is your compiler located on your filesystem?
Open a terminal and type "whereis gcc-4.0". Then add the correct path (without the bin at the end) to the settings.
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!] [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: AdamHk90 on February 07, 2012, 01:25:34 am
I was able to link to the appropriate path for the gcc compiler (at least the auto-detect feature confirmed the correct gcc path). However, I have a new problem when compiling my code. The header files are not in the directory. I have attached a screen shot of the error messages I received when compiling my code in codeblocks. Also, when I close a project in codeblocks after failing to compile my code, codeblock does not close properly it just terminates unsuccessfully. For example I go to file click close project and then the codeblocks program itself closes and generates an error report. I just want to close a project not the codeblocks program.
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!] [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: stahta01 on February 07, 2012, 03:46:35 am
Are you compiling a C or a C++ file?
What is the file extension?

Turn on full compiler logging.

Tim S.
Title: Re: ... uses an invalid compiler [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!] [YOUR ANSWER IS ALREADY THERE. SEARCH THE FORUMS!]
Post by: AdamHk90 on February 07, 2012, 08:34:04 pm
I am compiling a C++ file, .cpp.
I have turned on full compiler logging and tried to compile my C++ code. The error message under the "Build messages" tab generated the same errors as before with no added information.